Skip to Content

Faculty & Staff

U.Va. is proud of its distinguished faculty. In 1825 at Thomas Jefferson’s University, eight faculty members greeted the first students. Like their predecessors, today’s faculty—numbering 2,171 full-time members—were selected from some of the world’s foremost universities, not just because of their accomplishments but because of their enthusiasm and energy. Another trait that our faculty share with their forebears at the University is their dedication to working with students. Student-faculty interactions, both formal and informal, still shape our academic work and the University community at large.

Full-time instructional/research faculty 2,171
Full-time other staff (Academic Division) 9,919
Total 12,090

Faculty Honors

Faculty at the University of Virginia are highly acclaimed. Thirty-six faculty members have been selected for the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. Twelve faculty members have been selected for the Institute of Medicine. Four faculty members have been selected as MacArthur Fellows. Ten faculty members have been selected for the National Academy of Engineering. Three members have been selected for the National Academy of Sciences. In 2013, thirty-six faculty members won State Council of Higher Education for Virginia Outstanding Faculty Awards.

The most recent faculty honors include the following:

  • Psychology professor Noelle Hurd and education professor Joanna Lee Williams were among five researchers nationwide selected to receive major support from the William T. Grant Foundation for their work on community and peer influences on disadvantaged young people.
  • The Virginia Department of Education has awarded Richard Lindgren, research professor of physics, Frackson Mumba, associate professor of science education, and Jennifer Maeng, assistant professor of science education, two grants to support Virginia elementary and secondary teachers of science and mathematics.
  • Neurologist Dr. Erin Pennock Foff, biologist Sarah Kucenas and biomedical engineer Shayn Peirce-Cottler have been named recipients of 2013 Hartwell Individual Biomedical Research Awards for innovation and achievement in biomedical research.
  • Amalia Miller, associate professor of economics, has been awarded the 2013 Young Labor Economist Award from the International Institute for the Study of Labor.
  • Architectural historians Daniel Bluestone and Sheila Crane were both honored with Society of Architectural Historians awards for their respective scholarly books.
  • University of Virginia historian Alan Taylor, one of the nation's premier experts in Colonial America and the early U.S. republic, has received a Pulitzer Prize for his book, The Internal Enemy: Slavery and War in Virginia, 1772-1832.
  • University of Virginia historian Andrew Jackson O'Shaughnessy has won an American history prize for a book that looks at the British leadership's perspective on the American Revolutionary War.
  • Kim Tanzer, dean of the School of Architecture, has received a national 2014 Distinguished Professor Award from the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture.
  • The University of Virginia Center for Politics' latest documentary, The Kennedy Half Century, has won an Emmy Award for Best Historical Documentary from the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.
  • Astronomer Trinh Thuan was awarded the French Legion of Honor for his exemplary personal commitment to the promotion of scientific culture and transatlantic collaboration in the field of astrophysics.
  • Pulitzer Prize winning poet and professor emeritus Charles Wright was named the 2014-15 Poet Laureate of the United States.