In the wake of the white-supremacist terrorism of August 11-13, we wish to highlight and paraphrase some of the comments of Ian Baucom, Dean of Arts and Sciences:
Be assured that the Art Department remains a space where all can pursue the dialogue that counters the lies of racism, anti-semitism, homophobia, and nativism.
We are prepared to stand up for and support those who have been singled out as targets for hatred. The courage of free thought opposing cowardice and bigotry endures and persists here despite violence.

Current students

Electra McKinnon

MFA, Painting, TCU, Fort Worth, TX
PhD candidate
Email >

Electra Luanne McKinnon studied extensively with the late Picasso scholar Lydia Gasman. Following her status as ABD/PhD in 2000 under the direction of David Summers and Howard Singerman, she lived in Scotland and was Lecturer for “Re-reading Modern Art: 1900-1940” at the Edinburgh College of Art, and visiting lecturer at the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art. Returning to America in 2005, she served as the Bruce A. Beal Director of the Cornell Fine Arts Museum at Rollins College; and, from 2009-2012, as Director of the University of New Mexico Art Museum. She curated or organized over twenty-six exhibitions, and contributed to or authored nine publications including, Eva Hesse Spectres 1960; James Turrell’s Emblemata; Tamarind Touchstones: Creating Excellence in Fine Art Lithography; To Form from Air, Music and the Art of Raymond Jonson; Corps Exquis: Fragments from a History of the Human Body, 1585 to 2005; and, Crossing the Line, African American Artists in the Bradley Otis Collection. Other notable curatorial projects: Man Ray, African Art and the Modernist Lens; Hiroshi Sugimoto, Five Campaigns; The Infernal Method of William Blake; Nevelson by Night; Nick Cave Sound Suits; Winslow Homer Joys of the Day; Henri Matisse’s ‘Jazz;’ Richard Deacon / “Dead Leg”; and, Reconsidering the Photographic Masterpiece.In her capacity as museum director, she organized symposia and distinguished lectures with Briony Fer, Barbara Maria Stafford, Lowry Sims, Dave Hickey, Anne Collins Goodyear, and the artists Ed Ruscha, Fred Wilson, Lyle Ashton Harris, Richard Deacon, Jim Campbell, Jerry Uelsmann, and Daniel Reeves, among others.