UVaM - University of Virginia Art Museum

Visit

Calendar Spring 2014

Download current calendar.
          Spring 2014 (pdf) >

Or, click on the month below to see exhibitions and scheduled events.
Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul

March 2014

Exhibitions


Portraying the Golden Age
Drawings from the Collection of Maida and George Abrams

through April 27

Jasper Johns
Early Prints from the Collections of Jordan D. Schnitzer and His Family Foundation

through May 19

Joseph Cornell and Surrealism
March 7 – June 8

Events


Monday, March 3
Early Visions
4:14–5:45 pm

Thursday, March 6
Early Visions
4–5:30 pm

Patrons' Reception
5:30–7:30 pm
For Patron and higher level members only
Join The Fralin!

Friday, March 7
Opens—Joseph Cornell and Surrealism

Docent Education
9:30-11:30 am
For current docents only

Saturday, March 8
Saturday Special Tour
Joseph Cornell and Surrealism
by Matthew Affron
2-3 pm
In the Museum

Wednesday, March 12
Fun for the Young @ The Fralin
10–11 am

Monday, March 17
Volunteer Board Meeting
9:30 am
For Volunteer Board members only

Early Visions
4:14–5:45 pm

Tuesday, March 18
Lunchtime Talk
Jasper Johns
by Jennifer Farrell
12-1 pm
In the Museum

Wednesday, March 19
Community Docent Education
9:30-11:30 am
For current community docents only

Docent Council
11:30 am - 1:30 pm
For current community docents only

Thursday, March 20
Early Visions
4–5:30 pm

Poetry Reading
A Constellation of Dreams: Poetry in Honor of Joseph Cornell
An evening of poetry inspired by the exhibition Joseph Cornell and Surrealism
with readings by Gregory Orr, Debra Nystrom, and Stephen Margulies
7 pm
In the Museum, reception to follow

Friday, March 21
Docent Training Class
9 am – 12 pm
For current Spring 2014 class members only

Student Docent Education
1-2 pm
For current student docents only

Monday, March 24
Early Visions
4:14–5:45 pm

Thursday, March 27
Early Visions
4–5:30 pm

Friday, March 28
Docent Training Class
9 am – 12 pm
For current Spring 2014 class members only

Student Docent Education
1-2 pm
For current student docents only

Final Friday
5:30-7:30 pm
In the Museum

Saturday, March 29
Saturday Special Tour for the Big Read
The Cowboy in Art: The Good, the Bad, and the Funny
by Stephen Margulies
2-3 pm
In the Museum