Skip to Content


Faculty & Graduate Students

If you are interested in forming or joining a working group please email the Center for International Studies for more information.

Critical to the Center’s mission is the development of faculty and graduate student Working Groups, convened to examine global issues through an interdisciplinary lens. Each group consists of a small gathering of professors from across the University - currently the schools of Law, Medicine, and a wide array of departments in the College of Arts and Sciences - and as such will explore their topics by drawing, at once, on the insights and approaches of diverse academic fields.

Faculty initiatives or suggestions for new groups are warmly welcomed. Through the inter-school collaboration of the Working Groups and in all of its activities, the Center seeks to be a University-wide forum for robust and innovative research and dialogue on today’s most consequential global issues.

Current Working Groups

Current Working Groups

Human Rights

  • Majida Bargach
    Associate Director, Center for International Studies; Lecturer, French
  • Rae Blumberg
    William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Sociology
  • Douglas Ford
    Director, Immigration Law Clinic
  • Maria Pilar Garcia-Guadilla
    Director, Interdisciplinary Research Laboratory (GAUS), University Simón Bolìvar
  • Deena Hurwitz
    Director, International Human Rights Law Clinic and Human Rights Program
  • Niklas Hultin
    Assistant Professor, School of International Service, American University
  • Farzaneh Milani
    Professor, Women's Studies and Asian and Middle Eastern Languages and Cultures
  • Jeanita Richardson
    Associate Professor, Public Health Policy & Practice
  • Michael Smith
    Thomas C. Sorenson Professor of Political and Social Thought
  • Carol Ann Spreen
    Assistant Professor, Leadership, Foundations, & Policy

Global Change

Conflict Resolution

  • Kimberly Emery
    Assistant Dean for Pro Bono and Public Interest, School of Law
  • Frank Dukes
    Director, Institute of Environmental Negotiation and School of Architecture
  • Dewey Cornell
    Professor, Curry school of Education
  • Andy Thomson
    Psychiatrist, Elson Student Health Center
  • Maurice Apprey
    Professor, Department of Psychiatry and NB Sciences
  • Alma Jadallah
    President and Managing Director of Kommon Denominator, Inc, GMU
  • Scott Harrop
    Lecturer, Middle Eastern and South Asian Languages and Cultures
  • Murray Milner
    Professor Emeritus, Sociology Department and Senior Fellow at the Institute for Advanced Studies in Culture
  • Greg Saathoff
    Associate Professor of Research in Psychiatry and Neurobehavioral Sciences, and Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine at the University of Virginia’s School of Medicine, Executive Director of the University of Virginia’s Critical Incident Analysis Group (CIAG)
  • Eric Stern
    Professor of Political Science/Crisis Management at the Swedish National Defense College in Stockholm as well as Director of the Swedish National Center

Research Advisory Board to the Office of Research

  • Maurice Apprey
    Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Neuro-Biological Sciences; Dean, Office of African-American Affairs
  • Majida Bargach
    Associate Director, Center for International Studies; Lecturer, French
  • Ruth Bernheim
    Director, Division of Public Health Policy and Practice, Department of Health Evaluation Sciences, School of Medicine; Associate Professor of Public Health Sciences, School of Medicine; Associate Director, Institute for Practical Ethics and Public Life
  • Jagdish Kumar
    William R. Kenan Professor and Chair, Department of Sociology
  • Allen Lynch
    Director, Office of Research, Center for International Studies; Professor, Department of Politics
  • Farzaneh Milani
    Professor and Chair, Department of Middle East & South Asian Languages and Cultures, Professor, Studies in Women and Gender
  • Duane Osheim
    Professor, Department of History
  • William Wilkerson
    Associate Professor, General Faculty, McIntyre School of Commerce; Faculty Advisor, School of Continuing and Professional Studies
  • Brantly Womack
    Hugh S. & Winifred B. Cumming Memorial Professor of International Affairs; Professor, Department of Politics