[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Skip to Content

Colloquia 2012

May

Daniel Williams - Tuesday, May 15, 2012 Persistent Storage for Program Metadata

Xiaoyuan Wang - Tuesday, May 1, 2012 Defeating Malware Obfuscation by Application Level Virtualization

April

Lingjia Tang - Friday, April 27th, 2012 Mitigating Resource Contention in Warehouse Scale Computers

Zhiheng Xie - Wednesday, April 25th, 2012 Decentralized Infrastructure-free Accurate Collaborative Localization for Firefighters

Jason Mars - Thursday, April 26, 2012 Rethinking the Architecture of Warehouse-Scale Computers

Xiang Yin - Tuesday, April 24, 2012 Echo: Practical Formal Verification by Reverse Synthesis

Michael Boyer - Wednesday, April 18, 2012 Dynamic Rate Matching in Heterogeneous Systems

Ray Buse - Tuesday, April 17, 2012 Automatically Describing Program Structure and Behavior

Pieter Hooimeijer - April 16, 2012 Decision Procedures for String Constraints

Arkaitz Ruiz Alvarez - April 16, 2012 Automated Data Management in Cloud Computing

Krasimira Kapitanova - Wednesday, April 11, 2012 Robust Real-Time Event Services in Wireless Sensor Networks

Joel Coffman - Tuesday, April 10, 2012 Creating Deployable Relational Keyword Search Systems

Jiawei Huang - Friday, April 6, 2012 A Digital System Design Methodology for Efficiency-Quality Tradeoffs Using Imprecise Hardware

March

Liang Wang - Friday, March 30, 2012 Mitigating Dark Silicon with Near-Threshold Computing

Ryan Layer - Thursday, March 29, 2012 Binary Interval Search (BITS): A Massively Parallel Interval Intersection Algorithm

Michelle McDaniel - Friday, March 16, 2012 Assessing the Opportunities for Reactive Code Alignment

February

Ben Rodes - Tuesday, February 21, 2012 Diversification of Stack Layout in Binary Programs Using Dynamic Binary Translation

January

Yafeng Wu - Wednesday January 25, 2012 Reliability Solutions in Wireless Sensor Networks

Nathanael Paul, Oak Ridge National Labs / University of Tennessee - Monday, January 23, 2012 Trustworthy Systems from (Un)trusted Components

Benjamin Kreuter - Monday, January 9, 2012 Efficient use of Hybrid Symmetric/Fully Homomorphic Encryption

Colloquia 2011

December

Vijay Srinivasan - Wednesday, December 21, 2011 Non-Invasive Sensor Solutions for Activity Recognition in Smart Homes

Taniya Siddiqua - Tuesday, December 20, 2011 A Multi-Level Approach to Processor and Memory Reliability

Colin Braley- Wednesday, December 7, 2011 Multispectral Camera Calibration for Image Based BRDF Acquisition

Sriram Sankar- Monday, December 12, 2011 Impact of Temperature on Hard Disk Drive Reliability in Large Datacenters

Duane Merrill- Friday, December 2, 2011 Allocation-oriented Algorithm Design for GPU Computing


November

Ming Mao- Tuesday, November 22, 2011 Cloud Auto-Scaling with Deadline and Budget Constraints

Jiakang Lu - Monday, November 21, 2011 A Convenient and Inexpensive Sensing System for Improving the Energy Efficiency of Heating, Cooling, and Lighting in Homes


October

Timothy Hnat - Friday, October 28, 2011 Infrastructure-based Occupant Localization for Indoor Home Environments

Greg Faust - Thursday, October 27, 2011 A DNA Alignment Tool for Structural Variation Detection

Qiang Li - Tuesday, October 25, 2011 Reliable Multi-Body, Multi-Function Body Sensor Networks


September

Clint Smullen - Thursday, September 15, 2011 Designing Giga-scale Memory Systems with STT-RAM


August

Wei Wang - Wednesday, August 24, 2011 Performance Analysis of Thread Mappings with a Holistic View of the Hardware Resources

Robert Dickerson - Tuesday, August 16, 2011 System for the collection, Storage, Analysis, and Reporting of Objective and Subjective Behavorial Measures

Daniel Dougherty - Thursday, August 4, 2011 Workflow and Job Management on the Grid


July

Jeffrey Shirley - Monday, July 28, 2011 Mining User Action Policies to Control Program Behavior

Dan Upton - Monday, July 11, 2011 Enabling Efficient Online Profiling of Homogeneous and Heterogeneous Multicore Systems

Hengchang Liu - Monday, July 11, 2011 Design and Implementation of an Automatic, Robust, and Efficient Breadcrumb Sensor Network

Sal Valente - Friday, July 1, 2011 Replicated Grid Resources


June

Hamid Bagheri - Monday, June 20, 2011, Architectural Style as a Separate Variable in Design


May

Abhishek Rawat - Tuesday, May 10, 2011, Accelerating Reliability Simulations for NAND Flash based Solid State Disks

Aleksander Morgan - Monday, May 9, 2011, Analysis of the Hidden Subset Sum problem

Ph.D. Qualifying Exam by Mario Marino - Monday, May 9, 2011, RFDRAM:Addressing DRAM I/O pad scalability using RF Coplanar Waveguides on the Same Package

Mario Marino Ph.D. Qualifying Exam - Monday, May 9, 2011, KOLF: Kirchhoff Optimal Localization Framework for Wireless Sensor Networks

William Burns - Thursday, May 5, 2011, The e-Commerce Sandbox: an Interactive Learning Tool with Real-Time Feedback

Sean Arietta - Tuesday, May 3, 2011, Early Experiences in Building and Using a Database of One Trillion Natural Image Patches

Aleksander Morgan - Monday, May 2, 2011, Analysis of the Hidden Subset Sum problem

April

Jeffery von Ronne - Friday, April 29, 2011, Early Analysis and Optimization of Java Programs

Pitchaya Sitthi-amorn - Wednesday, April 27, 2011, Methods for Optimizing Procedural Shaders in Interactive 3D Rendering Systems

Mona Sergi - Ph.D. Qualifying Exam Presentation - Tuesday, April 26, 2011, Threshold Fully Homomorphic Encryption and Secure Computation

Chih-hao Shen - PhD Qualifying Exam Presentation - Monday, April 25, 2011, Two-Output Secure Computation with Malicious Players

Tamal Saha - Monday, April 25, 2011, Extended Mediator-based Component Composition for Building Integrated Systems on the Web

Vidyabhushan Mohan - Ph.D. Qualifying Examination - Wednesday, April 20, 2011, Modeling NAND Flash Memory Reliability

Michael Spiegel - Monday, April 18, 2011, Cache-Conscious Concurrent Data Structures

Pitchaya Sitthi-amorn Seminar Presentation - Friday, April 15, 2011, Methods for Optimizing Procedural Shaders in Interactive 3D Rendering Systems

Michael Holroyd - Thursday, April 14, 2011, Methods for the Synchronous Acquisition of 2D Shape and Material Appearance

Jonathan McCune - Thursday, April 7, 2011, Firmware Integrity on Peripheral Devices???

Michael Spiegel - Monday, April 4, 2011, Cache-Conscious Concurrent Data Structures

March

Rahul Mangharam - Thursday, March 31, 2011, Closing the loop with Cyber-Physical Modeling

Sirajum Munir - Thursday, March 17, 2011, Addressing Burstiness for Reliable Communication and Latency Bound Generation in Wireless Sensor Networks

Xipeng Shen - Wednesday, March 16, 2011, Locality Enhancement and Dynamic Optimizations on Multicore and GPU A

S.M. Shahriar Nirjon - Wednesday, March 16, 2011, MultiNets: A System for Switching between Multiple Network Interfaces on Mobile Devices

Enamul Hoque - Monday, March 14, 2011, Monitoring Body Positions and Movements During Sleep using WISPs

Jing Yang - Wednesday, March 2, 2011, Dynamic Binary Parallelization


February

Daniel Williams - Friday, February 25, 2011, Persistent Storage for Program Metadata

Ricky Benitez - Thursday, February 24, 2011, Storage Challenges at Google

Hengchang Liu - Friday, February 18, 2011, Design and Implementation of an Automatic, Robust, and Efficient Breadcrumb Sensor Network

Lingjia Tang - Thursday, February 17, 2011, Compiling to Mitigate Contention for QoS

Gary McGraw - Thursday, February 10, 2011, Attack Trends 2011 -or- Why Software Security

Tanima Dey - Friday, February 4, 2011, Characterizing Multi-threaded Applications based on Shared-Resource Contention