Executive Council

Membership and term in office:

As specified in the constitution and by-laws of the Senate: “The Executive Council shall consist of the President of the University, ex officio; the Provost of the University, ex officio; the immediate Past Chair of the Senate; the Chair of the Senate; the Chair-Elect of the Senate; seven at-large members elected from the Senate who serve for a [staggered] three-year term; and the chairs of the standing committees of the Senate.”


The Executive Council, as specified in the Constitution, has the responsibility for determining and publishing the number of Senate seats to which each school is entitled, setting the agenda for the meetings of the Senate, appointing members and chairs of standing and ad hoc committees, and acting on behalf of the Senate when there is a need for prompt action.

The Executive Council’s activities are central to making the Faculty Senate a substantial partner in University planning. Each spring the Council will organize a meeting to consider major institutional issues and will select a few for consideration by the Senate in the following academic year. Prior to the beginning of each academic year, the Council will meet with the President and Provost to review emerging institutional planning issues and to discuss priorities for the agenda in the year ahead. The Council will report on and/or propose to the Senate action on matters of university planning that affect the academic, physical, and aesthetic resources, issues, and policies of the University. The Council will serve as the coordinator for the Senate’s role in the implementation of the University’s Self-Study and will similarly review the implementation of recommendations of other standing and ad hoc committees. The Council will advise and consult with the President on matters pertaining to the University’s relationship to the Commonwealth and other external bodies. As necessary the Council will appoint ad hoc or standing committees to assist in the performance of its duties. The Council or a subcommittee will annually offer suggestions for nominations to the Board of Visitors.

Members (2013-2014)

Name Title Term Ends School Phone
Chris Holstege Chair
Director, Division of Medical Toxicology
2015 Medicine 924-5185
Joe Garofalo Chair-Elect

Associate Professor and Co-Director, Center for Technology and Teacher Education

2016 Curry School of Education 924-0845
George Cohen Immediate Past Chair

Brokaw Professor of Corporate Law

2014 Law 924-3814
Kerry Abrams Chair, Academic Affairs Committee

Albert Clark Tate, Jr., Professor of Law

2016 Law 924-7361
Rasheed Balogun Chair, Faculty Recruitment, Retention, Retirement, & Welfare Committee

Associate Professor of Nephrology

2016 Medicine 924-5125
Francesca Fiorani Associate Professor (elected) 2015 Arts & Sciences 243-8649
Leora Friedberg Chair, Finance Committee

Associate Professor

2016 Arts & Sciences 924-3225
Kathryn Laughon Associate Professor


2016 Nursing 924-1985
George Mentore Associate Professor of Anthropology (elected) 2014 Arts & Sciences 924-7038
Elizabeth Meyer Chair, Planning Committee

Professor (elected)

2014 Architecture 924-3285
Tom Nachbar Chair, Grievance Committee


2016 Law 924-7588
Peter Norton Chair, Policy Committee

Assistant Professor, Science, Technology, & Society

2014 Engineering & Applied Science 243-8794
Bethany Nowviskie Chair, General Faculty Council

Director of Digital Research and Scholarship

2014 Libraries 243-2218
Nina Solenski Associate Professor of Neurology (elected) 2016 Medicine 924-8374
Steve Patek Associate Professor, Systems and Information Engineering (elected) 2014 Engineering & Applied Science 982-2052
Alfred (Alf) Weaver Professor of Computer Science (elected) 2016 Engineering & Applied Science 982-2201
Gweneth West Chair, Collaboration, Communication, & Engagement Committee

Professor, Head of Costume Design,

Drama Department

2015 Arts & Sciences 924-8965
Bruce Williams Chair, Research, Teaching, & Scholaship Committee

Taylor Professor in Media Studies

2016 Arts & Sciences 243-4331