Skip to Content

Honors Given



The Thomas Jefferson Awards are the highest honors given to members of the University community who have exemplified in character, work and influence the principles and ideals of Jefferson, and thus advanced the objectives for which he founded the University.

One award, sponsored since 1955 by the McConnell Foundation, recognizes excellence in service to the University. The other, which was established in 2009 by the Alumni Board of Trustees Endowment Fund, recognizes excellence in scholarship. Recipients must have been at the University for at least 15 years. Those who have retired are not eligible. Each award consists of a citation and a cash prize.

Visit the Thomas Jefferson Awards page to view a list of past recipients (from 1955 to present).

The submission deadline for nominations for the 2016 Thomas Jefferson Award will be announced at a later date. Nominations are to be submitted to

The nomination packet requires:

  • Letter of Nomination
  • Curriculum Vita
  • Supporting Letters – strongly encourage a minimum of four supporting letters with a maximum of ten

For questions, send them to the Thomas Jefferson Awards Committee at or contact Pam Higgins at 434-982-3099.



Certificates are presented to the top 20 percent of those students who have earned at least 60 credits of course work at the University by the end of their first two years of study. The University's undergraduate schools

with first- and second- year students - the School of Architecture, the College of Arts and Sciences, the Curry School of Education, the School of Engineering and Applied Science, and the School of Nursing - bestow these awards.