Skip to Content

Nomination Information

Nominations with supporting data (e.g., resume/curriculum vita, letters) are to be submitted by e-mail to the chair of the Thomas Jefferson Awards Committee at by noon on Thursday, September 25, 2014. It is important that you include the name of the nominee (first and last name) in the subject line (e.g., John Smith Nomination). If you encounter problems submitting the packet electronically, please contact Pam Higgins at 434-982-3099.


Past Recipients of the Thomas Jefferson Awards

1955   Jesse W. Beams   1987   E. Mavis Hetherington
1956   Harry Clemons   1988   Ray C. Hunt, Jr.
1957   T. Munford Boyd   1989   Ernest C. Mead, Jr.
1958   Colgate W. Darden, Jr.   1990   Richard F. Edlich
1959   Ivey F. Lewis   1991   Hugh P. Kelly
1960   Robert Kent Gooch   1992   Kenneth G. Elzinga
1961   Frederick D. G. Ribble   1993   Leonard W. Sandridge, Jr.
1962   Henry B. Mulholland   1994   R. K. Ramazani
1963   Allan T. Gwathmey   1995   Linda K. Bunker
1964   Dumas Malone   1996   Edward W. Hook, Jr.
1965   Edgar F. Shannon, Jr.   1997   B. Lewis Barnett, Jr.
1966   Frank L. Hereford, Jr.   1998   Kendon L. Stubbs
1967   Hardy C. Dillard   1999   Raymond J. Nelson
1968   Gordon T. Whyburn   2000   David T. Gies
1969   Oron J. Hale   2001   Larry J. Sabato
1970   Thomas H. Hunter   2002   James F. Childress
1971   Fredson T. Bowers   2003   Robert M. Carey
1972   Lawrence R. Quarles   2004   Robert E. Scott
1973   B.F.D. Runk   2005   Annette Gibbs
1974   Vincent Shea   2006   Edward L. Ayers
1975   W. Dexter Whitehead   2007   Richard J. Bonnie
1976   William S. Weedon   2008   John A. Blackburn
    Charles K. Woltz       Sharon L. Hostler
1977   Irby B. Cauthen, Jr.   2009   John T. Casteen III (service)
1978   Raymound C. Bice, Jr.       J. Thomas Parsons (scholarship)
1979   Frederick D. Nichols   2010   John L. Colley, Jr. (service)
1980   Frank W. Finger       Richard L. Guerrant (scholarship)
1981   Edwin E. Floyd   2011   Marva A. Barnett (service)
1982   William H. Muller, Jr.       R. Jahan Ramazani (scholarship)
1983   Henry J. Abraham   2012   Patricia M. Lampkin (service)
1984   Emerson G. Spies       William B. Quandt (scholarship)
1985   Norman A. Graebner   2013   Gordon M. Stewart (service)
1986   Daniel J. Meador       A.E. Dick Howard (scholarship)