Greek News

ISC & IFC Recruitment Update

February 25th, 2010

The Inter-Sorority Council held its  spring formal recruitment from January 23rd-February 2nd. They ran a very successful process and are excited to welcome 585 new members into the ISC community. Congratulations to all chapters for a great recruitment, despite the snow!

Despite a snow storm, IFC Recruitment concluded on Saturday, February 6 with Bid Day. 467 new members joined fraternities and recruitment registration was up 16% from prior years.

ISC Extension Process Update

February 25th, 2010

The Inter-Sorority Council commissioned an exploratory committee at the end of the 2009 spring semester to begin the process of collecting information and analyzing data in hopes of determining whether or not this is the optimal time for us to explore the idea of extension.

The committee completed the exploratory process at the end of last semester with their presentations to the ISC community on November 18th. The community has in turn voted to approve the committee’s decision to open for extension, and look forward to welcoming a new sorority here to grounds in the Spring of 2011.

Save the Date: GOALS

February 25th, 2010

Chapter Presidents are asked to save the date for this year’s Greek Orientation and Leadership Seminar (GOALS). This event will be hosted on March 26th with the programmatic portion occurring from 3:00-5:00pm and a dinner hosted by the IGC directly following the event.

Specifics regarding location and schedule will be communicated out directly to presidents in the upcoming weeks.

Congratulations to the 2010 – 2011 IFC Governing Board

February 25th, 2010

The IFC elected the 2010 – 2011 Governing Board on Thursday, February 18 and Thursday, February 25. Congratulations to the newly elected officers:

  • President: Penn Daniel
  • Vice President for Judiciary: Jackson Hill
  • Vice President for Membership: Trey Goggins
  • Vice President for Administration: Bill Igou
  • Vice President for Risk Management: Marshall Burke
  • Member-At-Large: Geer LeBoutillier
  • Chair for Membership Education: Dominic Rinaldi
  • Chair for Community Service: Kayu Muigai
  • Chair for Faculty and Alumni Relations: Sam Davies
  • Chair for Sustainability: Dane Ferre
  • Chair for Diversity & Inter-Greek Relations: Neil Holby
  • Chair for Public Relations: David Replogle

Save the Date: Spring Leadership Lunch

February 24th, 2010

We will be offering our Spring Leadership Lunch opportunity on Friday, April 9th from 12:00-1:30 in Newcomb. Join us for a free lunch and an opportunity to interact with fellow Greek leaders and learn valuable leadership lessons.

More information about the specific topic and how to RSVP coming soon.

Congratulations to the 2010-2011 ISC Executive Board

February 24th, 2010

The 2010 – 2011 executive board of the Inter-Sorority Council (ISC) has been installed and is off to a great start. The following are the new ISC officers:

  • President: Sarah Feldner
  • VP of Administration: Ally Svirsky
  • VP of Finance: Jill Mezzanotte
  • VP of Judiciary: Sarah Ulmer
  • VP of Recruitment: Melanie Stover
  • Alumnae/Faculty Relations Chair: Kat McKinney
  • Assistant Recruitment Director: Kendall Galant
  • Community Service Chairs: Alexis Pennington and Hillary Wallace
  • Interactions Chairs: Heather Prime and Leah Truitt
  • Recruitment Logistics Chair: Emily Steen
  • Public Relations Chairs: Alexis Tarbet and Olivia Curran
  • Recruitment Counselor Director: Linde Groover
  • Scholarship Chair: Liza Brown
  • Women’s Concerns Chair: Carina Murphy

Spring 2010 Important Dates & Deadlines

February 24th, 2010
  • March 1: Roster Update Information Sent to Chapter Presidents (Rosters due March 29)
  • March 8 – 12: Spring Break
  • March 26: Greek Orientation and Leadership Seminar (GOALS)
  • March 29: Rosters Due
  • April 9: Leadership Lunch
  • April 16 – 18: Spring Fling
  • April 24: Foxfield Races
  • April 26: Year End Report Due
  • May 5: FOA Day

FOA Programs To Change for 2010 – 2011 Academic Year

February 24th, 2010

In late spring 2009, a FOA Working Group, composed of representatives from the 4 Greek Governing Councils was charged with examining the educational programs that fraternities and sororities are required to complete as part of the FOA process. The current model requires 75% chapter participation and the completion of 6 programs on pre-determined topics (alcohol/drugs, diversity & discrimination, hazing, liability, sexual assault, and health & safety).

Throughout the past year, the FOA Working Group has examined this process through informal means (discussion) and formal means (surveys, research) and have issued a series of recommendations to revise the current FOA Programming Model.

As we look to finalize the recommendations, we are asking chapter presidents to provide their feedback and comments on the proposed changes. To help facilitate this process, we will be setting aside drop-in hours throughout March and April for fraternity and sorority members to review the changes to the FOA programming model.

The following are members of the FOA Working Group and can also be contacted with questions:

  • Blair Culbertson – ISC Representative (bac9w)
  • Penn Daniel – IFC Representative (wpd5f)
  • Yemisi Olusada – NPHC Representative (ono4e)
  • Jenn Sun – MGC Representative (jws7h)

Please note the following:

  • The changes will not take effect until the Fall Semester 2010.
  • The final plan will be reviewed with all chapters at the Greek Orientation and Leadership Seminar (GOALS), tentatively set for March 26, 2010.
  • We will be working closely with all chapters to help educate members on the revisions to the current model.

Congratulations to the New MGC Executive Board

February 24th, 2010

The 2010 – 2011 executive board of the Multicultural Greek Council (MGC) has been installed and is having a great semester. The following are the new MGC officers:

  • President: Grace Park
  • Vice President: Nita Avary
  • Secretary: Jasmine Hsu
  • Treasurer: Trang Thai
  • Parliamentarian: Esther Na
  • IGC Representatives: Rachel Gleason & Giselle DeGuzman