Call for Nominations

11 March 2015


The University of Virginia General Faculty Council is seeking nominations for general faculty to represent the following constituencies:

  • 2 representatives from the Administration
  • 2 representatives from the Health Professionals
  • 1 representative from the Professional Schools (Architecture, Batten, Commerce, Darden and Law)
  • 1 representative from the College and Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
  • 2 At-Large representatives

Serving on the GFC provides the opportunity to meet and interact with fellow professionals across the university from different departments and functions. We routinely have in-depth discussions on university policies and practices that impact many of us. This is an excellent opportunity to broaden your horizons here at UVA while becoming more involved in understanding its inner workings.

The University of Virginia General Faculty Council represents full and part-time Non-Tenure-Track Faculty and members of the Senior Professional Research Staff. Non-Tenure-Track Faculty include Academic (Teaching and Research), Administrative, and Professional Faculty. The Council exists to represent the interests of the General Faculty to the University and to advise the University on matters pertaining to the General Faculty. Meetings are held on the second Wednesday of each month. For more information about the General Faculty Council, please refer to our website at

To be eligible to serve, nominees must have held a Non-Tenure-Track Faculty or Senior Professional Research Staff position for the past 12 months and be willing to serve on the Council for a three-year term (i.e. June 2015-June 2018). Council Members are expected to attend the monthly meetings, held throughout the academic year.

Please submit nominations to:

Jeffrey Sitler, GFC Elections Committee Co-Chair

Butch Jefferson, GFC Elections Committee Co-Chair

You may nominate yourself or someone else meeting the qualifications. Feel free to call us or any other Council member if you have any questions.

Nominations must be received by Monday, March 2, 2015.