Skip to Content

Higher Education Advisory Committee (HEAC)


The HEOA established the Higher Education Advisory Committee (HEAC) to develop and review:

  • The methodology for determining how state funding will follow a Virginia student to his/her institution of higher education
  • The criteria for defining low-income and middle-income students for the purposes of financial aid, and how federal and state financial aid programs currently provide funding for these students
  • The process and criteria for measuring institutional performance in meeting the HEOA objectives
  • Economic opportunity metrics to better assess the economic value of degrees granted by the Commonwealth's colleges and universities
  • The additional authority that should be granted to public institutions under the Restructuring Act, and the criteria for measuring educational-related performance with regard to the state goals and objectives
  • The role of nonpublic institutions in addressing the goals of the HEOA

The HEAC must submit its recommendations to the State Council of Higher Education (SCHEV) which will report to the Governor and the Chairs of the House Appropriations Committee, the House Education Committee, the Senate Finance Committee, and the Senate Education and Health Committee.


Pursuant to the HEOA, the HEAC was comprised of the following members:

  • A representative of the Office of the Secretary of Education, appointed by the Secretary of Education, who shall serve as chair
  • A representative of the Secretary of Finance, appointed by the Secretary of Finance
  • A representative of the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV), appointed by the Chair of the SCHEV
  • The staff directors of the House Appropriations Committee and the Senate Finance Committee, or their designees
  • The presidents, or their designees, of five public institutions of higher education including two doctoral institutions, two comprehensive institutions, and one from the Virginia community College System (to be selected by the presidents of all public institutions)
  • A representative from a private, nonprofit institution of higher education to be appointed by the Governor
  • Other representatives as designated by the Governor or the HEAC

2012-13 membership:

  • Peter Blake, Director, State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
  • John Broderick, President, Old Dominion University
  • Ric Brown, Secretary of Finance
  • Kirk Cox, Chair, House Appropriations Higher Education Subcommittee
  • Betsey Daley, Staff Director, Senate Finance Committee
  • Glenn DuBois, Chancellor, Virginia Community College System
  • Tom Farrell, Chair, President and CEO, Dominion Resources, Inc
  • Laura Fornash, Secretary of Education
  • Heywood Fralin, CEO, Medical Facilities of America, Inc.
  • Rick Hurley, President, University of Mary Washington
  • Robert Lindgren, President, Randolph Macon College
  • Keith Miller, President, Virginia State University
  • Tommy Norment, Chair, Senate Finance Education Subcommittee
  • Charles Steger, President, Virginia Tech
  • Teresa Sullivan, President, University of Virginia
  • Paul Trible, President, Christopher Newport University
  • Robert Vaughn, Staff Director, House Appropriations Committee
  • Dubby Wynne, Vice Chair, Council on Virginia's Future