Feb. 4-10, 2000
Artificial heart pump funded
Bookstore endowment surpasses $1 million
Hot Links - Interactive Frog Dissection

Teams get to work on bringing new integrated systems to U.Va.

U.Va. NewsMakers
Charting Diversity: Commitment, Honor, Challenge
See double? Artist shows stereoscopic photography
Memorial Gym celebrates 75th
WFPA seeks a few good women
Notable - awards and achievements of faculty and staff
Recipients of the 1999-2000 David A. Harrison III Awards for Undergraduate Research announced
Carey outlines Med. School goals: boost research, retool curriculum
Club seeks adviser
An APPLE for the mentor? Program takes peer approach to substance abuse education
Adult degree offered

  • David Lee Rubin, professor of French, recently lectured on translation theory at Oxford University, where he was informed of his election to the editorial board of the British Society for 17th-Century French Studies.

  • The Points of Light Foundation chose the Madison House Migrant Aid Program as the "Daily Point of Light" for Jan. 27. The recognition is made to an individual, organization or business that makes significant contributions toward solving serious social problems. The migrant aid program was established in 1973 by U.Va. students and provides tutoring to adults and homework assistance to their children.

  • Judith Shatin, chair of the department of music and director of the Virginia Center for Computer Music, recently had her composition "View from Mt. Nebo" performed by the Mannes Trio in New York. A whole concert of her music will be performed Feb. 6 by the Da Capo Chamber Players as part of a series at Sarah Lawrence College in Bronxville, N.Y. Shatin's "Ockeghem Variations," commissioned by the Dutch group Hexagon, will premier March 20 at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, The Netherlands. "Houdini, Memories of a Conjurer," a chamber music/theater piece conceived by Shatin and her stepson, Itamar Kubovy, was premiered in January at the Portsmouth (N.H.) Music Hall, and later presented at the Kravis Center of Palm Beach.

  • The sixth volume of The Correspondence of William James, edited by Ignas K. Skrupskelis and Elizabeth M. Berkeley, was selected by the Modern Language Association to receive the fifth annual Morton N. Cohen Award for a Distinguished Edition of Letters. The award was presented recently at the Association's annual convention in Chicago. The publication of the William James Correspondence, initiated in the spring of 1988, is being conducted at Alderman Library under the general editorship of John J. McDermott of Texas A&M University. To date, seven of the projected 12 volumes have been published by the University Press of Virginia.

  • Rev. Gerald P. Fogarty, S.J., William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of Religious Studies and History and an expert on Vatican diplomacy, has been appointed to a six-member commission that will re-examine the Vatican's actions during World War II. In response to criticism of Pope Pius XII's failure to speak out publicly against the Holocaust during the war, Pope Paul VI, elected in 1963, directed four Jesuit scholars to prepare and release documents relating to the Vatican's actions during World War II. Eleven volumes were published between 1965 and 1981. However, a perceived lack of objectivity -- the Jesuits were thought to have been too close to Pius XII -- and the failure to provide Jewish scholars with access to the Vatican archives have prompted continued skepticism, Fogarty said. In an effort to promote better relations with the world Jewish community, the Vatican and an international group of Jewish leaders appointed an International Catholic-Jewish Historical Commission -- made up of three Catholic and three Jewish scholars -- to study the published documents and determine whether any major gaps in the historic record exist.

  • Electrical engineering professor Joanne Bechta Dugan was recently elected a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers for contributions to dependability analysis of fault tolerant computer systems. She also received the 1999 IEEE Reliability Society's Annual Reliability Society Award.

  • Professor Michael Reed was recently elected a Fellow of the Institute of Physics and elected to the level of senior member of IEEE.

  • Electrical engineering professor and chair James H. Aylor was recently named the first recipient of the Louis T. Rader Professorship in Electrical Engineering.

  • The Housing Division recently gave out its annual awards. Kay Varner, assistant director for accommodations, was named Employee of the Year. Reginald J. Toms, operations/maintenance, received the Director's Award. Jurine Hensley, operations/housekeeping, special projects lead worker, was honored with a Divisional Award.



© Copyright 2000 by the Rector and Visitors
of the University of Virginia

UVa Home Page UVa Events Calendar Top News UVa Home Page