April 14-20, 2000
Back Issues
U.Va. teaching awards given to and for inspiring minds
Electronic archive projects receive $1 million from NEH
Strasser talks 'trash' at environmental forum
Graduate Student Research

ITC reinvests savings into academic projects

Hot Links - Charting Diversity
In Memoriam
Take your daughters to work April 27

U.Va. teaching awards given to and for inspiring minds

By Robert Brickhouse

Seven U.Va. professors and five graduate teaching assistants, admired for their extraordinary dedication and ability to inspire, will receive the 2000 University-wide awards honoring outstanding teaching.

This year's recipients, selected by a committee from many nominations backed by vivid testimonials from students and colleagues, were honored April 12 in the Rotunda at the ninth annual "In Celebration of Teaching" banquet, hosted by President John T. Casteen III and Vice President and Provost Peter W. Low.

As always, the choices were both difficult and inspiring for selection committee members, said Vice Provost Barbara Nolan, who coordinated the awards process. "The winners the committee chose reflect in many different, individual ways the dedication and skill of our faculty as whole. Although we can honor only a handful of teachers each year, these awards also always celebrate the countless daily teaching achievements of all our professors and graduate instructors."

Top Alumni Association Awards

  • Larry J. Sabato, the Robert Kent Gooch Professor of Government and Foreign Affairs: the Alumni Association Distinguished Professor Award. The annual award is given to a faculty member who has excelled as a teacher, shown unusual concern for students and made significant contributions to University life for at least a decade. The winner receives a $2,500 prize.

  • Luann J. Lynch, assistant professor of business administration: the Alumni Board of Trustees Teaching Award. Given to an assistant professor for demonstrated skill in teaching,the award carries a $1,000 prize, with $1,500 in additional support, and offers a semester's research assignment.

Winners of All-University Outstanding Teaching Awards

Each award carries a $2,000 prize and recognizes ability to inspire and motivate students.

  • Kenneth S. Abraham, the Class of 1962 Professor of Law and Albert C. Tate Jr. Research Professor

  • Dr. Valentina L. Brashers, associate professor of nursing

  • Dr. Julia C. Iezzoni, associate professor of pathology

  • Cheryl L. Krueger, associate professor of French

  • David Waldner, assistant professor of government and foreign affairs Winners of All-University Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Awards Each award carries a $1,000 prize for teaching excellence.

  • Karlyn Crowley, Department of English

  • Jessica Howell, Department of Economics

  • Oliver Frauenfeld, Department of Environmental Sciences Winners of the Resident Teaching Awards in the School of Medicine Each awardee receives a $1,000 prize.

  • Dr. Laurence Brinckerhoff, department of surgery

  • Dr. Mitchell H. Rosner, department of internal medicine.

Also honored at the banquet will be Dennis R. Proffitt, professor of psychology, who holds the Cavaliers' Distinguished Teaching Professorship this year. The rotating endowed professorship recognizing excellent teaching is partly supported by athletic bowl earnings.


© Copyright 2000 by the Rector and Visitors
of the University of Virginia

UVa Home Page UVa Events Calendar Top News UVa Home Page