Aug. 18-24, 2000
Back Issues
Secrets of the cell discovered
In Memoriam
Hot Links - U.Va. Child Development Center

Notable - awards and achievements of faculty and staff

Jefferson Award nominations sought
Find out more about long-term care insurance
Sign up by Aug. 31 to work for United Way's Day of Caring
Lung screening offered

The Pew Charitable Trusts recently named Dr. Dean H. Kedes of the microbiology department as one of only 20 national 2000 Pew Scholars in the Biomedical Sciences. He will receive $240,000 in research support over the next four years for his work in tumor virology.

Dr. Lawrence H. Phillips II, vice chair and professor of the neurology department and director of the Neuromuscular Center, was honored May 16 as Doctor of the Year by the Myasthenia Gravis Foundation of America. Phillips has been a member of the medical advisory board of the MGFA since 1983 and on the board of directors of the Virginia chapter since 1986.

Dr. Munsey S. Wheby, professor of internal medicine and senior associate dean of the School of Medicine, was awarded the Roanoke College Medal from the school in Salem, the highest honor the college bestows on its alumni.

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency recently added the University's Energy Program, managed by Tony Motto, to its 1999 Honor Society for energy-saving achievements. To qualify, U.Va. monitored baseline energy data and completed a specified number of technology upgrades that saved energy and prevented pollution. To win the award, the University upgraded almost 4 million square feet in 82 facilities, reducing electricity consumption by 9.5 million kilowatt hours and saving $577,000.

Economics professor Kenneth Elzinga recently participated in a panel discussion on "Microsoft Remedies & Beyond: Where Law, Economics and Politics Converge" at the Washington Legal Foundation. Other panelists included former White House counsel Lloyd Cutler and American University law professor Jonathan Baker, former chief of the Bureau of Economics at the Federal Trade Commission. Former U.S. Attorney General Dick Thornburgh moderated the May 23 discussion.

Elzinga testified in defense of Microsoft during its recent antitrust trial, saying, "to think you are going to break up the company on the ground that there hasn't been, but there might be, consumer harm is extremely radical."

The Miller Center of Public Affairs has been awarded $200,000 in grants to support its Presidential Recordings Project in 2001: $130,000 from the National Historical Publications and Records Commission and $70,000 from the W. Alton Jones Foundation.

With the grants, the center is extending its project of transcribing, editing and publishing hitherto secret White House tapes, to include the Roosevelt, Truman and Eisenhower administrations. Led by Timothy Naftali, the center had already worked with the Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon tapes. W.W. Norton and Company will publish the first three volumes of the Kennedy tapes in early 2001, along with companion CD-ROMs that recreate the day-to-day events in the Kennedy White House.

Doyle Smith, former associate director of media relations who retired last year, is one of 10 people recently selected to the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame. Members of the hall's 43rd entering class have contributed to the sport as players, coaches, officials and administrators.

Landscape architecture assistant professor Julie Bargmann has a land-reclamation project that could become the model for communities struggling with the damaging environmental effects of coal mining. A profile of Bargmann was the first in a series on "Today's Innovators" in TIME Magazine and on CNN&TIME on July 9.

Works by Bargmann and Kathy Poole, also an assistant professor of landscape architecture, are included in the National Building Museum's exhibit "Nature Constructed/Nature Revealed: Eco-Revelatory Design." Poole's project, "Wet Lands: Civic Stormwater + Contingent Spaces," focuses on a 15-acre stormwater plan for Carr's Hill. Bargmann's project, "Testing the Waters," celebrates acid mine drainage remediation, community history and recreation for a 45-acre park in Vintondale, Pa. The exhibition runs through Oct. 22.

Robert P. Dillman, the University's chief facilities officer, was recently named to a two-year term on the board of directors of the Construction Owners Association of America. Richard Dickman, construction program manager at Facilities Management, is retiring from the same board after serving since 1994. He was a founding director.

Professor emeritus of government and foreign affairs Inis L. Claude Jr. recently delivered the commencement address at Hendrix College in Conway, Ark. He was also the keynote speaker June 17 at a conference in Oslo, Norway, sponsored by the Academic Council on United Nations Studies and the Norwegian Institute of International Affairs. The former organization presented him with an Honorable Achievement Award for Distinguished Contribution to the International Community.

U.Va. gastroenterologist Dr. David Peura was recently appointed to the advisory board of the National Heartburn Alliance, a newly formed organization dedicated to improving the lives of heartburn sufferers through education, information and support.

Linda K. Bunker, the Parrish Professor in the Curry School of Education, was named one of three 2000 recipients of the University of Illinois Alumni Achievement Award. Bunker earned bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees at Illinois, where she was also a three-sport athlete and James Scholar. Her portrait will hang with those of past recipients in the Illinois Union building on the Urbana-Champaign campus.

Deborah Eisenberg, professor of creative writing, recently won the annual Rea Award for the Short Story, established in 1986 by the late Michael M. Rea to honor a living U.S. or Canadian writer who has made significant contribution to the short story form. The award, sponsored by the Dungannon Foundation, carries with it a $30,000 prize. Past winners of the award include Joyce Carol Oates, Eudora Welty and John Edgar Wideman.

For the fourth straight year, The Campaign for the University of Virginia received the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education's Circle of Excellence Award for Overall Performance in Educational Fund-Raising, a distinction no other university can claim.

Julian Bivins, assistant vice president for development for advancement services, was elected as a trustee-at-large to serve on the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education's board of trustees through 2001.

Kenneth S. Abraham, the Class of 1962 Professor of Law and the Albert C. Tate Jr. Research Professor, has received the 2000 Robert B. McKay Law Professor Award, presented annually by the American Bar Association's Tort and Insurance Practice Section. The award recognizes commitment to the advancement of justice, scholarship, and the legal profession demonstrated by outstanding contributions to the fields of tort or insurance law.


© Copyright 2000 by the Rector and Visitors
of the University of Virginia

UVa Home Page UVa Events Calendar Top News UVa Home Page