Nov. 17-30, 2000
Back Issues

Holiday hours added

Board backs plan for adding new research buildings
Bellah urges search for common good
Tickets may be available

Promiscuity could be the key factor in immune system evolution, study suggests

For kids' sake, some marriages are worth saving
Ethics faculty lead new interdisciplinary center
Other ethics-related centers at U.Va.
Notable - awards and achievements of faculty and staff
In Memoriam
New associate dean posts filled
Growth issues on the horizon
Poet Dave Smith to read Nov. 30
Head of National Museum of the American Indian to speak Nov. 29
U.Va. professor advised ABC against calling Florida
Hot Links - Combined Virginia Campaign
Eating turkey
To the Editor of Inside UVA

The School of Nursing Alumni Association presented its Distinguished Professor Award to Arlene Keeling and the Excellence in Teaching Award to Emily Drake. The awards were made Oct. 14. The Distinguished Professor Award recognizes superior accomplishments in teaching, research and/or service. Keeling, a member of the School of Nursing faculty since 1992, currently serves as director of the Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Program and associate director of the Center for Nursing Historical Inquiry. One of her most notable accomplishments is the "Heart Partners Project," a campaign to inform the public about the importance of early detection of heart attacks. The Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes teaching at the undergraduate level and/ or clinical training. Drake has been a member of the Nursing faculty since 1994, has received two innovative teaching awards and has been awarded scholarships to support doctoral study from both the School of Nursing Alumni Association and the Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neo-natal Association.

H.C. Erik Midelfort's book, A History of Madness in Sixteenth Century Germany, recently won the Roland Bainton Award in History for the year 2000, awarded at the annual meeting of the Sixteenth Century Studies Conference in Cleveland. Midelfort, the C. Julian Bishko Professor of History and principal of Brown College, is the only person to have won the Bainton Award twice, having earned it in 1995 for his book, Mad Princes of Renaissance Germany.

Board of Visitors member Walter F. "Wally" Walker has been named one of six recipients of the National Collegiate Athletic Association's 2001 Silver Anniversary Awards, given annually to former student-athletes for achievement 25 years after their graduation. Walker, who led U.Va. to its only ACC men's basketball tournament championship in 1976 and was named the tournament's most valuable player, is president and general manager of the NBA's Seattle Supersonics.

Dr. Robert M. Carey, dean of the School of Medicine and professor of internal medicine at the U.Va. Health System, received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Consortium for Southeastern Hypertension Control on Nov. 2 in Savannah, Ga. The award recognizes a scientist whose work has resulted in major advances in the understanding of the cardiovascular system and high blood pressure.

Dr. Dennis DeSilvey, associate professor of clinical internal medicine at the U.Va. Health System and commander of the 2290th U.S. Army Hospital in Washington, received the "A" proficiency designator award from the U.S. Army Medical Department. This is the highest award the U.S. Army Medical Department can bestow to recognize professional expertise, ability and achievement in clinical and academic medicine.


© Copyright 2000 by the Rector and Visitors
of the University of Virginia

UVa Home Page UVa Events Calendar Top News UVa Home Page