Jan. 19-25, 2001
Back Issues
Engineering gets $15 million for materials science research
U.Va. student awarded Marshall scholarship
New monitoring system helps high-risk newborns

Cancer grant deadlines

Art department sharpens focus on photography
School of Nursing celebrates 100 years
Book outlines tools for groups to reach higher ground with creative problem solving
Notable - awards and achievements of faculty and staff
Hot Links - Office of African-American Affairs events calendar
Writer's Eye awards ceremony to be held Feb. 4
Looking for distinguished alumnae
Freeing his slaves is one of Washington's greatest legacies
The Harboring
Bayly Art Museum
Jeanne Duval. The Harboring. 1990, oil on canvas

Writer's Eye Awards Ceremony to be held Feb. 4

Celebrate the inspiration of art on the written word at the Bayly Art Museum's annual Writer's Eye Awards ceremony Feb. 4 at 3 p.m. in Campbell Hall, Room 153. First-place winners in each category (prose and poetry) and age level will read their entry during the ceremony. First, second, and third place winners in all categories will be honored, and honorable mention recipients will also be recognized. A reception at the museum will follow the awards ceremony. Each year the docents of the Bayly Art Musuem organize the Writer's Eye competition and local writers judge the submissions.

This year's program, the 14th, received almost 1,100 entries in prose and poetry, submitted in four age categories: grades 3-5, 6-8, 9-12, and university/adult. This year's winners are:

Grades 3-5


First - Josephine Blount
Second - Sarah Mary Goldfarb
Third - Jake Parks, Emma Leslie Arata

Prose First - Chelsey Pippin
Second - Daisa Granger
Third - Laura Baginski

Grades 6-8

Poetry First - Sarah Chase-Levenson
Second - Janet Pan
Third - Lucia Strini
Prose First - Lydia Lictenberger
Second - Elizabeth Ribble
Third - Abigail Diamond

Grades 9-12

Poetry First - Malcolm Perkins
Second - Martisha Johnson
Third - Elizabeth Ochs
Prose First - Emily McMullen
Second - Will Anderson
Third - Sarah Merkel


Poetry First - Jessica Van Denend
Second - Thorpe Moeckel
Third - Penn Whaling
(No awards were given in the adult prose category this year due to an insufficient number of entries.)


© Copyright 2001 by the Rector and Visitors
of the University of Virginia

UVa Home Page UVa Events Calendar Top News UVa Home Page