Feb. 9-15, 2001
Back Issues
Former presidents to oversee National Commission on Federal Election Reform
Leading prostate cancer physician named to direct U.Va.'s new research institute
Research computing being evaluated

Two new e-mail programs now available

College leaders grapple with state of Arts & Sciences buildings
Take our Advice ... Getting the most from vitamins
In Memoriam
Women leaders sought for summer program
Notable - awards and achievements of faculty and staff
Creative writers coming this semester
Literature symposium to bring noted writers and theorists
U.Va. Law student to show award-winning Bosnia video
Students organize relief drives
Hot Links - Miller Center forums

Trish Romer, assistant director of operations for the Housing Division, received the Outstanding New Professional Award at the Virginia Association of College and University Housing Officers' recent annual conference, held at Wintergeen. Romer was instrumental in the planning for the completion of and transition to Woody House, the new first-year dormitory, and also improved storeroom operations.

Dr. William A. Petri of the Health Sciences Center has been elected a fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology. He was honored for a distinguished career in parasitology, including research that was instrumental in identifying the microbe E. histolytiuca as a cause of dysentery and formulating a vaccine.

Barbara M. Brodie, director of the Center for Nursing Historical Inquiry and Madge M. Jones Professor of Nursing, recently received the Distinguished Nurse Award for 2001 from the local chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International, the national honor society for nursing. The award is presented biennially and based on leadership in education, practice, administration, and/or research. In addition, nurses selected for this honor must help create an environment that enhances the image of nursing, as well as participate in the development of future nursing leaders and models of leadership.

The Council of Editors of Learned Journals recently named The Hedgehog Review: Critical Reflections on Contemporary Culture, edited by Jennifer L. Geddes, as its best new journal at the Modern Language Association's annual meeting in December. The journal is published by U.Va.'s Institute for Advanced Studies in Culture.

Kate Burke, associate professor of drama, has been elected president of the Voice and Speech Trainers Association, Inc., whose membership includes voice and speech professionals from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Britain and Ireland, South Africa, Southeast Asia and Australia.

The editorial board of the Journal of the American Academy of Audiology has selected the work of Susan Dalebout, an assistant professor in the Curry School of Education, and her doctoral student, Lisa Fox, for the Editor's Award and Prize as the best article of 2000. The article, titled "Identification of the Mismatch Negativity in the Responses of Individual Listeners," was the unanimous choice of the board "because it directly addressed contemporary clinical issues of importance through exceptionally sound scholarship, most rigorous and carefully conducted science, and impeccable writing."

Lotta M. Lofgren, a lecturer in the English Department, has received the American-Scandinavian Foundation's 2000 Translation Prize for her English translation of the poetry of Swedish writer, August Strindberg.

The annual prize carries a $2,000 award and publication of part of the translation in Scandinavian Review, the preeminent English language periodical devoted to contemporary Scandinavian affairs and culture. Lofgren's award is for a book-length selection of Strindberg's poetry, with a critical introduction on his career as a poet.

John Maciuika, an assistant professor of architectural history at the Architecture School, was recently awarded the 2000 Research Article Prize by the German Studies Association of North America for an article in the German Studies Review, titled "Art in the Age of Government Intervention: Hermann Muthesius, Sachlichkeit, and the State, 1897-1907."

Curry School professors Daniel Hallahan and James P. Kauffman were listed among 100 "influential persons in the development of the field of special education" in the November/December issue of the journal Remedial and Special Education. Hallahan's citation noted that he "applied self-monitoring technology to enhance attention to academics in students with learning disabilities." Kauffman was cited for "behavioral interventions in special education; catalyst for emotional and behavioral disabilities areas; served as conscience for the field on critical issues."


© Copyright 2001 by the Rector and Visitors
of the University of Virginia

UVa Home Page UVa Events Calendar Top News UVa Home Page