May 11-17, 2001
Back Issues
Darden's Snyder named dean at Chicago
Casteen announces actions U.Va. will take on recent athletics task force report
Northwest ties lure Reed to retire

Meditation can assist in the healing process

The Batten Institute spurs innovative business ideas
Intern program offers new job perspective
Nanotechnology: making parts small so big things can happen
Correction -- Paul Freedman misidentified
Off the Shelf -- recently published books by faculty and staff
Notable -- awards and achievements of faculty and staff
Robert Sweeney named senior vice president
Graduation weekend May 19-20
Hot Links -- real-time streaming of graduation ceremonies
After Hours -- "Slowpoke" moseys along the road of alternative comics

Dr. Klaus Ley has been named co-director of the Cardiovascular Research Center at the School of Medicine effective April 1. He will co-direct the center with Dr. Brian Duling for eight months and then become the director of the center.

Richard R. Abidin, Professor of Education and director of clinical training for the Curry Programs in Clinical and School Psychology, was elected as a fellow of the Society of Pediatric Psychology and a fellow of the Division of Child and Adolescent Psychology, both affiliated with the American Psychological Association. Fellow status is conferred to an individual who is nationally recognized for outstanding contributions to the field of psychology.

Nine Health System nurses have received the Virginia Nurses Association’s Centennial Award. The Health System and Nursing School are celebrating their 100th anniversaries this year.

The U.Va. nurses who won the award are: Gregory Huber, Blood and Marrow Transplant Program; Tamara Golding, Charles O. Strickler Transplant Center; Elizabeth Good and Carol Lawson, Surgical Services; Anita Sites and Sandra Muraca, Surgical and Digestive Health Acute Care Services; Amanda Leslie Ray and Nancy Marshall, Neuroscience and Otolaryngology Unit; and Cynthia Westley, Geriatric Services.

The award presentations were made in Richmond on May 2.

Miller Center of Public Affairs Research Fellow Max Holland has won the J. Anthony Lukas Work-in-Progress Award for his book, A Need to Know: Inside the Warren Commission. The award, which recognizes nonfiction writing and research, provides Holland $45,000. His book will be published by Houghton Mifflin.

David Strider Jr., manager for the Thoracic Cardiovascular Surgery Service In-Patient Units within the Heart Center at the Medical Center, has received the Piedmont Virginia Community College 2001 Distinguished Alumni Award. Strider is a 1983 PVCC graduate.

Kenneth Schwartz, associate professor at the School of Architecture, has been named a fellow of the American Institute of Architects. A fellowship recognizes contributions to society and the profession.


© Copyright 2001 by the Rector and Visitors
of the University of Virginia

UVa Home Page UVa Events Calendar Top News UVa Home Page