Feb. 1-7, 2002
Back Issues
U.Va. board hears grim budget news
Ayers reaffirms goal of first-rate teaching
New programs send students around the world

Programs combine U.Va. faculty, U.Va. credit, first-hand view of world

Pill-sized camera aids in diagnosis
Hot Links -- Virtual picture postcard
Faculty Senate creates new dissertation-year fellowships
In Memoriam
“Technology and the human person” series will explore though questions
Menaker to receive Zintl award
Notable -- awards and achievements of faculty and staff

David Wotton, of the Center for Cell Signaling and the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, has been selected for a “Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers.” His nomination was sponsored by the National Institutes of Health.

• The American Psychiatric Association and the American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law have awarded the 2002 Manfred S. Guttmacher Award to John Monahan for Rethinking Risk Assessment: The MacArthur Study of Mental Disorder and Violence (Oxford University Press, 2001). The Guttmacher Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the literature in forensic psychiatry.

• Sports field manager Jimmy Rodgers and his staff have received the Football Field of the Year Award from the Sports Turf Managers Association, for their care of David A. Harrison III Field at Scott Stadium.

• Registered nurse Audrey Snyder, a member of the Nursing School faculty, was inducted recently into Omicron Delta Kappa, the National Leadership Honor Society.

Tina Brashers, associate professor of nursing, was recently named president-elect of the National Academies of Practice, an interdisciplinary health organization focused on collaboration in health care.

• Madge Jones Professor of Nursing Barbara M. Brodie, director of the Center for Nursing Historical Inquiry, received the President’s Award, recognizing outstanding service and advancement of nursing history, from the American Association for the History of Nursing, only the second time the award has been bestowed.

• Registered nurse Sarah P. Farrell is one of 16 psychiatric nurses nationwide to participate in a federal program for mentored scientists, offered by the National Institute of Mental Health and the National Institute of Nursing Research. The new initiative is intended to increase the nation’s supply of psychiatric nurses conducting behavioral change research in mental illness.

• Registered nurse Jeanne Erickson was accepted as one of 50 fellows in the Oncology Nursing Society’s 2001 Leadership Development Institute, a program to develop leaders through a personalized development enhanced by education and coaching.



© Copyright 2002 by the Rector and Visitors
of the University of Virginia

UVa Home Page UVa Events Calendar Top News UVa Home Page