June 21-July 12, 2002
Back Issues
U.Va. offers to share traffic costs
Job talk -- myths and realities
To the point -- with David Evans
Students create Rotunda mosaic

U.Va., World Wildlife Fund sign agreement

In Memoriam
Notable -- awards and achievements of faculty and staff
Dante Germino dies in train accident
Season tickets available
Employees: How to get back to school
After Hours -- Gayle Noble
Study discovers effects of exercise in women on HRT


Peter L. Sheras, professor of education and human services, has been elected a practitioner member of the National Academies of Practice, founded in 1981 to recognize the need for interdisciplinary collaboration in health care.
• Paul A. Levine, chair of the Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, has been inducted as president of the American Head and Neck Society.

H. Eugene Lockhart Jr., president and CEO of the New Power Co. in Purchase, N.Y., was elected president of the U.Va. Alumni Association. Lockhart received an engineering degree in 1972 and an MBA in 1974. He succeeds Glynn Key on July 1. David L. “Casey” Bowlin, class of 1969 and president of Summit Global Partners Inc., a regional insurance brokerage firm based in Dallas, was elected vice president.

The Alumni Association also presented employee awards. The Distinguished Service Award, for exhibiting leadership and inspiring others, was given to Faye B. Cline, a research administrator at the School of Engineering and Applied Science. The Distinguished Professor Award, for promoting superior instruction and enrichment of University life, was presented to Barbara Brodie, professor of nursing.

Rebecca White, director of Parking and Transportation, was honored May 8 at the annual Give Air a Brake Day luncheon, for what the organizers called “her commitment to reduce parking and traffic congestion by promoting alternative transportation, initiating projects to protect the environment and the community’s quality of life and for her promotion of JAUNT’s Crozet Commuter Route.”

Jeffrey Plank, assistant vice president for research and public service, won the 2002 Independent Book Award for Architecture for The Early Louis Sullivan Building Photographs, which he co-authored with the late modern architect and preservationist Crombie Taylor.

Katherine Thornton, professor of technology, culture and communication, and assistant dean of engineering, received the Eminent Woman Award from the University’s Women’s Club at its annual spring luncheon. Given only three times in the club’s history, the award was bestowed previously upon Elizabeth Kubler-Ross, head women’s basketball coach Debbie Ryan and professor and poet Rita Dove. A former astronaut, Thornton holds the women’s record with four space walks, totaling 21 hours, outside the space capsule.

• Three clinical nurses at the Health System received awards for excellence as part of Week of the Nurse May 6-12. Bethany Coyne Johnson, registered nurse and nurse practitioner in the Division of Pediatric Nephrology, was recognized for excellence in clinical practice. Liz Browne, registered nurse and clinician in the Medical Intensive Care Unit, received the Excellence in Caring Award. Browne for helping patients and their families physically and emotionally. Clinician Esther McClure received the Nurse of Distinction Award for her clinical knowledge, experience and dedication to her patients and colleagues.



© Copyright 2002 by the Rector and Visitors
of the University of Virginia

UVa Home Page UVa Events Calendar Top News UVa Home Page