Skip to Content

Fall Convocation 2009

Fall Convocation 2009 was held on
Friday, October 16 in the John Paul Jones Arena.

Honors Given

john t. casteen III and j. thomas parsons pictureThe Thomas Jefferson Award is the highest honor given to a member of the University community who has exemplified in character, work and influence the principles and ideals of Jefferson, and thus advanced the objectives for which he founded the University.

The University of Virginia presented its highest honor, the Thomas Jefferson Award, to President John T. Casteen III, and J. Thomas Parsons, chairman of the Department of Microbiology and F. Palmer Weber Professor of Medical Research, during Fall Convocation on October 16.

UVaToday News Article
Casteen and Parsons Receive Thomas Jefferson Awards


See a list of the recipients of the Thomas Jefferson Award (from 1955 to present) here.

Intermediate Honors

Certificates were presented to the top 20 percent of those students who have earned at least 60 credits of course work at the University by the end of their first two years of study. The University's undergraduate schools with first- and second- year students -- the School of Architecture, the College of Arts and Sciences, the School of Engineering and Applied Science, and the School of Nursing -- bestowed these awards.


Convocation Speaker

meredith woo picture

Fall Convocation 2009 was held on Friday, October 16. Meredith Woo, dean of the University's College and Graduate School of Arts & Sciences spoke at Friday's Fall Convocation.

Woo addressed the honored students, noting that most of them were born in 1989, the year that the wall that divided East and West Berlin came down and Chinese college students staged an uprising in Tiananmen Square in Beijing. More.

U.Va. Media Relations, Matt Kelly

Read Dean Meredith Woo's Convocation Address (video also available)