site navigation

UVa Night of Percussion Concert

Wednesday, April 26th, 8:00pm - Old Cabell Hall

UVa Night of Percussion concert featuring UVa Percussion Ensemble directed by I-Jen Fang and guest artist, Michael Schutz. Michael Schutz will perform as the xylophone soloist with the UVa Percussion Ensemble on Xylophonia by Joseph Green, and will also be collaborating with I-Jen Fang on a percussion duet, 42nd Street Rondo by Wayne Siegel.

I-Jen Feng

Members of the ensemble are Ryan Bird, Christine Breton, Daniel Buckman, Ben Cooper, Tacker Frink, Evan Monez, Lance Murashige, Paul Novick, Kyle Sefton, and Michael Sollosi.

This concert will feature works by Ed Argenziano, John H. Beck (director of Percussion Department at Eastman School of Music), Joseph P. Green (famous xylophonist in early 20th Century), Abe Holzmann, Kevin Lepper, Glenn Kotche, Peter Saleh, and Wayne Siegel.

The Percussion Ensemble is a chamber ensemble that performs literature from classical transcriptions to contemporary music. The ensemble draws upon a large family of pitched and non-pitched percussion instruments and number of players and the amount of equipment varies greatly from piece to piece.

Michael Shutz

Michael Schutz is currently Director of Percussion Studies at Longwood University and performs frequently with the Charlottesville and University Symphony. He earned the MM in Percussion and Music Technology from Northwestern University and BMA from Penn State University. Performances include concerts with the Virginia Consort, Lynchburg Symphony Orchestra, Altoona Symphony, and Pennsylvania Centre Chamber Orchestra. Solo performances include recitals at the Virginia/DC Day of Percussion and the Pennsylvania Music Teachers Association State Convention. From 2003-2004 he served on the percussion faculty at Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp in Twin Lake, Michigan.

As a scholar, he has presented at national and international conferences on topics ranging from the role of visual information in music perception to the computer aided analysis of post-tonal music. Michael has served as Chair of the Percussive Notes Music Technology Subcommittee since 2003, and recently received an endorsement with Sabian Cymbals. His teachers include marimba virtuoso Michael Burritt, Dan Armstrong, Gifford Howarth, Ken Harbison, and Randy Eyles.

return to music home page
Maintained by McIntire Department of Music
Last Modified: April 12, 2006
112 Old Cabell Hall, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Departmental Information: (434) 924-3052
Cabell Hall Box Office: (434) 924-3984