McIntire Department of Music

Ivo Kaltchev, Piano

The Charlottesville and University Symphony Orchestra will end its Fanfare Season with "Islands of Bliss," a dramatic concert with works by Brahms, Ravel and Rautavaara. This will be the final concert of the 2006-2007 season and will be conducted by Music Director Kate Tamarkin. Performances will be on Saturday, April 21 at 8:00pm, and Sunday, April 22 at 3:30pm.

Einojuhani Rautavaara is a contemporary Finnish composer who studied under Jean Sibelius at the Sibelius Academy, Finland's music university. He has written eight symphonies, several works for piano and many works for chorus. The orchestral piece "Lintukoto," or "The Isle of Bliss," was written in 1995. It was inspired by a poem of the same name written by Finnish poet Aleksis Kivi. The poem is about a peaceful island paradise, and Rautavaara's music reflects it with powerful wind melodies and smooth, arching string lines.

French composer Maurice Ravel is best known for his ballet Boléro, but he preferred his other orchestral and piano works. His Piano Concerto in G major, finished in 1931, was partly inspired by the tour he took through America and Canada just a few years earlier. The American jazz influence is evident in the unique wind and brass interjections, while the Classical legacy shines through in the soothing buildup of the Adagio. In the last movement, the piano is fast-paced and unquestionably mesmerizing.

Pianist Ivo Kaltchev will be performing the Ravel Piano Concerto with the Symphony. Kaltchev has performed in concert halls around the world, including Lincoln Center's Alice Tully Hall, the Kennedy Center, the Moscow Tchaikovsky Conservatory, the Beijing China Conservatory of Music, the St. Petersburg Philharmonic Hall, the Teatro Verdi, the Mendelssohn Hochschule für Musik and the Tel Aviv Recanati Auditorium. He currently is an Associate Professor of Piano at The Catholic University of America in Washington D.C. and he is also a Visiting Piano Professor at the Beijing China Conservatory of Music.

Johannes Brahms was one of the great Romantic composers of the nineteenth century. His Fourth Symphony, finished in 1885, was his last. Along with his Requiem, the Fourth is often considered Brahms' most serious work. While Beethoven's influence appears in the strong brass and percussion sounds, Mozart and Haydn likely inspired the lighter themes with dancing violins and intricate winds. This symphony has an impressive variety of dynamics and many familiar melodies that make use of the full orchestra. The piece is one of the most important orchestral statements from the nineteenth century.

To enhance the listening experience, there will be a free pre-concert lecture starting 45 minutes before each concert. Pre-concert lectures will be held in Minor Hall and will be led by McIntire Department of Music Associate Professor and Chair Richard Will. 'Noon Notes', a lecture series about the each concert led by Kate Tamarkin, will also be presented on Friday, April 20, at noon, at the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Downtown Charlottesville.

"Islands of Bliss" will be a blissful end to a bold season!

Who: Charlottesville and University Symphony Orchestra
Kate Tamarkin, Music Director
What: Islands of Bliss
Final Concert in the 2006-2007 Season
Program: Einojuhani Rautavaara, The Isle of Bliss
Maurice Ravel, Piano Concerto in G major
   with Ivo Kaltchev, Piano
Johannes Brahms, Symphony No. 4 in E minor
When: Saturday, April 21 at 8:00pm
Sunday, April 22 at 3:30pm
Where: Old Cabell Hall at the University of Virginia
Tickets: Single tickets range from $11-$25 and can be purchased at the Cabell Hall Box Office at (434) 924-3984, 12pm to 5pm, Monday through Friday. For more information, visit

top return to music home page
Maintained By McIntire Department of Music
Last Modified: Monday, 28-Jul-2008 23:27:19 EDT
112 Old Cabell Hall, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Departmental Information: (434) 924-3052
Cabell Hall Box Office: (434) 924-3984