McIntire Department of Music

The UVA Jazz Chamber Groups are directed by UVA music faculty members, Pete Spaar, Mike Rosensky and Jeff Decker.

The opening group features Anthony Robertson on alto and soprano saxophones, Canelle Boughton on tenor sax, Roxie Ward on flute, Matt Klopfer on guitar, Laura Harris on piano, Mark Schottinger on bass, Mark Schminke on drums and Will Hodges on vocals.

The second group, coached by Jeff Decker, includes John Petrucelli and David Kirk on tenor sax, Grove Miller on piano, James Paradis on guitar, Jared Kassebaum on vocals, Larry Zipf on bass and Boone Adkins on drums.

The third group has named themselves "The Dominant Seven" and consists of Brandon Walsh on trumpet, Greg Weaver on tenor and baritone saxes, Pete Brewton on tenor sax, Nick Cordle on guitar, Pete Cobos on piano, Dhara Goradia on bass and Jeff Kidd on drums.

The last group to perform, coached by Mike Rosensky, includes Dean de la Pena on trumpet, Colin Addis on alto sax, Ben Jessup on tenor sax, Chris Plietz on piano, Brett Jones on guitar, Ryan Gilchrist on bass and Brady Bolton on drums. There will be original student compositions by Pete Brewton, Matt Klopfer, Pete Cobos.

There will be tunes by Charlie Parker, John Coltrane, Wayne Shorter, Lee Morgan, Antonio Carlos Jobim and others.

This event is free and open to the public.

top return to music home page
Maintained By McIntire Department of Music
Last Modified: Monday, 28-Jul-2008 23:27:24 EDT
112 Old Cabell Hall, Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Departmental Information: (434) 924-3052
Cabell Hall Box Office: (434) 924-3984