Skip to Content

Text-only Version
Text-only Version People/Web Search Calendar Emergency Info A-Z Index Webmail University of Virginia
Notable Alumni University of Virginia

Degrees/Attendance 1971-1980



George F. Allen (CLAS '74, LAW '77)
former U.S. Senator from Virginia, former Governor of Virginia
Lt. Gen. David A. Deptula (CLAS '43, GSAS '76)
former Deputy Chief of Staff for Intelligence, Surveillance and Reconnaissance, U.S. Air Force
J. Randy Forbes (LAW '77)
U.S. Congressman, Virginia's Fourth District
Julia Gibbons (CLAS '75)
Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals, Sixth Circuit
James S. "Jim" Gilmore III (CLAS '71, LAW '77)
former Governor of Virginia, former Chair of the Republican National Committee
John Gleeson (LAW '80)
Judge, U.S District Court, Eastern District of New York, Prosecutor John Gotti Trial.
Robert L. Hutchings (CLAS '79)
former chair, National Intelligence Council
Robert S. Mueller III (LAW '73)
former Director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation
Rebecca W. Rimel (NURS '73)
President, Pew Charitable Trusts
Charles S. Robb (LAW '73)
former U.S. Senator for Virginia, former Governor of Virginia, former Chair of the Iraq Intelligence Commission
Larry J. Sabato (CLAS '74)
Director and founder of the Center for Politics, best-selling author


Daryl Brewster (CLAS '79)
former President and CEO, Krispy Kreme
C. Thomas Faulders III (CLAS '71)
former Chair and CEO, LCC International, Inc., President and Chief Executive Officer of the University Alumni Association.
Paul Tudor Jones (CLAS '76)
Founder, Tudor Investment Corp.
Martin Killgallon (DARD '72)
President, Ohio Art Company
Timothy Koogle (SEAS '73)
former President and CEO, Yahoo Inc.
H. Eugene Lockhart Jr. (SEAS '72, DARD '74)
former CEO, Master Card International; former President, Bank of America
Jonathan Mariner (COMM '76)
Executive Vice President of Finance and CFO, Major League Baseball
Peter Quick (SEAS '78)
former President, American Stock Exchange
Steven S. Reinemund (DARD '78)
former Chair and CEO, PepsiCo, Inc.
Mark B. Templeton (DARD '78)
CEO, Citrix Systems, Inc.
James W. Thomas (DARD '79)
COO and CFO, MapQuest
David Verklin (CLAS '78)
former CEO, Aegis Media Americas
Roger L. Werner Jr. (DARD '77)
Co-Chair, Outdoor Channel Holdings
George T. Yates III (CLAS '70, LAW '73)
Partner, Coudert Brothers; Recipient, French Legion d'Honneur


Mark Johnson (CLAS '71)
Film Producer, Rain Man, Good Morning, Vietnam, The Notebook
Andrew M. Scheinman (CLAS '70, LAW '73)
Film Producer, A Few Good Men, When Harry Met Sally, The Princess Bride; Television Producer, Seinfeld
Tom Shadyac (CLAS '80)
Film Director/Producer, Patch Adams, Liar Liar, The Nutty Professor, Ace Ventura: Pet Detective, Bruce Almighty
Ann Hould Ward (CLAS '78)
Tony Award winner for costume design, Beauty and the Beast

Supreme Court

Asher D. Grunis (LAW '72)
President, Supreme Court of Israel
Leroy Rountree Hassell (CLAS '77)
former Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Virginia
John Charles Thomas (CLAS '72, LAW '75)
former Justice, Supreme Court of Virginia


Tim Finchem (LAW '73)
Commissioner and CEO, PGA
Walter "Wally" F. Walker (CLAS '76)
Former President and General manager, Seattle SuperSonics. Led U.Va. to its only ACC title and its first NCAA Tournament.


Thomas Bachhuber (EDU '73)
Director of The Career Development Center at UWM, author of five books including The Best Graduate Business Schools.
Rabbi David Ellenson (GSAS '72)
President, Hebrew Union College

Land, Sea, & Space

Michael Leinbach (ARCH '76)
Shuttle launch Director NASA, John F. Kennedy Space Center
Kathryn Cordell Thornton (GSAS '79)
Astronaut, flew on several missions aboard the Discovery (1989) and Endeavour (1992, 1993) space shuttles.
Peter J. Wisoff (CLAS '80)
Astronaut, flew on missions aboard the Endeavour (1993 and 1994), Atlantis (1997) and the Discovery (2000).

News & Media

Wyatt G. Andrews (CLAS '74)
CBS news correspondent
Katherine A. Couric (CLAS '79)
Anchor, CBS Nightly News. She has been co-anchor of NBC's "Today Show" from 1991 through 2006.
Tyler Mathisen (CLAS '76)
Managing Editor of CNBC Business News and Host of CNBC High Net Worth
George P. Rodrigue III (CLAS '78)
VP/Managing editor, The Dallas Morning News; two-time Pulitzer Prize recipient
William F. Shortz (LAW '77)
Crossword editor, New York Times; puzzlemaster, NPR Weekend Edition
Joan M. Stapleton (CLAS '75)
Former publisher, New Republic

Arts & Literature

Claudia Emerson (CLAS '79)
Pulitzer Prize-winning American poet. She was awarded the 2006 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry for her collection "Late Wife" and has been a contributing editor of the literary magazine "Shenandoah."
Linda A. Fairstein (LAW '72)
Former prosecutor and best-selling crime novelist, served as Chief of the Sex Crime Persecution Unit in the NY Dist Attorney office.
Lawton Fitt (DARD '79)
Director, CIENA Corporation and Former Director, the Royal Academy of Arts

International/Foreign Affairs

Javier Solana (GSAS '71)
Former Secretary General of NATO (1995-1999), current Secretary General of the Council of the EU.
E. Ashley Wills (CLAS '71)
U.S. Ambassador focuses on India and South Asia, Senior International Business Advisor at WilmerHale
Last Modified: 26-Mar-2007 07:43:17 EDT