Operation of mopeds on any
Interstate Highway System is prohibited by Virginia Law. Operation of
mopeds on highways and public vehicular areas by persons under age 16 is
prohibited by Virginia law.
No moped shall be driven on any
highway or public vehicular area faster than 35 miles per hour.
Operating a moped faster than 35 miles per hour is deemed by Virginia
law to be operating a motorcycle, which requires you to title and
register the moped as a motorcycle and obtain a motorcycle license.
Moped riders must carry some form
of identification that includes name, address, and date of birth.
Although you do not need a
driver's license to operate a moped, you may not operate a moped if you
have been declared a habitual offender or your license is suspended or
revoked for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Moped drivers are required to
abide by the same traffic laws and regulations as automobile drivers.
Detailed information on Virginia's traffic laws and regulations is
available in the Driver's Manual. In addition, certain local governments
may impose restrictions on moped operation. Violations of the moped laws
are considered a traffic infraction and convictions will appear on your
All DUI laws apply to mopeds
operated on public highways.