Any moped over 50cc's is required to have a valid U.Va parking permit to park in motorcycle parking spaces on grounds. These mpoeds are subject to the same policies as motorcycles.
Effective July 1, 2013 Virginia law requires that every moped driver operating on Virginia roadways carry a government-issued photo ID. The ID does not have to be a DMV issued driver's license. Additionally, drivers and passengers must wear a helmet. If the moped does not have a windshield, drivers and passengers must also have safety goggles or a face shield as part of their helmet.
All mopeds must be titled and registered by July 1, 2014. Titles are $10 and the annual registration fee is currently $20.25.
These requirements apply to mopeds operating on Virginia roadways. They do not apply to mopeds that are solely operated on private property.
Visit the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles for more information.