lewis m. hammond award

The Lewis M. Hammond Award

The Philosophy Department offers an annual prize, the Lewis M. Hammond Award, to the most outstanding graduating major in philosophy. The award consists of $l00.00 in cash to be spent on philosophical books of the recipient's choice. Candidates are judged on the basis of their performance in philosophy courses (including quality of their written work, GPA, contribution to class discussion, etc) as well as their general philosophical ability. Previous winners have been Eugene O. Mills (l980), Bruce Clurman and Virginia Hodges (l98l), Patrick Croskery (l982), Jeffrey Hahn (l983), Eliot Robinson (l984), Elizabeth Griffin (l985), Daniel Garrett (l986), none (1987), Patricia Diane Koman (1988), Paul Ghaemmaghami (l989), Keith Oberkfell (1990), David Nagle (1991), James Bell (1992), Angela Handley (1993), Andrea Cummings (1994), Louis DeRosset (1995), Richard Shockey (1996), Erica Kovacs (1997), Charlie Jung (1998).