Building On Our Legacy Leaders in Their Disciplines For the Common Good Financial Report
Milestones The Student Experience Buidling for Tomorrow
Charting Courses Winning in Many Ways Pitcure of Health

The stature of the University rests on the talents of its faculty. They have won Pulitzer Prizes, and they have received MacArthur "genius" awards. They have served on presidential commissions, and they have orbited the Earth. They have created maps of the universe, and they have revealed the mechanisms of the smallest cells. Their pioneering work has enriched the teaching of our students, and it has shaped and improved the lives of people far from the Grounds.
This year, a number of faculty were singled out by their peers for distinction.
  • Dr. Milton Brown, assistant professor of chemistry, won a 2002 Researcher of the Year Award from the Carilion Biomedical Institute. He is currently working to develop compounds that control the growth of blood vessels.
  • Doris Kuhlmann-Wilsdorf, the University Professor of Applied Science, delivered the 2002 Campbell Memorial Lecture to the Annual Meeting of the American Society of Materials and was also the plenary speaker at the 15th International Congress on Mechanical Engineering.
  • Dr. Bruce Schirmer, the Stephen H. Watts Professor of Surgery, was elected president
    of the Society of American Gastrointestinal Endoscopic Surgeons.
  • Linda Watson, director of the Claude Moore Health Sciences Library, was named president of the Medical Library Association.
  • Richard Bonnie (Law '69), the John S. Battle Professor of Law and director of the Institute of Law, Psychiatry, and Public Policy, was awarded the Adam Yarmolinsky Medal by the National Academy of Sciences' Institute of Medicine, as well as the American Psychiatric Association's Special Presidential Commendation. He was chair of a recent study by the National Research Council and the Institute of Medicine that recommended ways to stem the increase in underage drinking.
  • Dr. John Jane, the David D. Weaver Professor and chair of the Department of Neurological Surgery, won the 2003 Distinguished Service Award from the Society of Neurological Surgeons. The society cited his leadership of one of the nation's premier neurosurgery training programs and his excellence in clinical practice.
  • Rosa Ehrenreich Brooks, associate professor of law, was elected to the board of directors of Amnesty International USA. She also was named to the board's executive committee and is board liaison to Amnesty's women's rights and children's rights steering committees.
  • Jacob Goeree, associate professor of economics, and Jun Julius Zhu, an assistant professor of pharmacology specializing in neuroscience, were among 117 scientists and scholars to receive prestigious Sloan Research Fellowships from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.
  • Dr. William Brady (College '84), associate professor of emergency medicine and clinical internal medicine, was awarded the American College of Emergency Physicians' 2003 National Teaching Award.
  • Michael Menaker, Commonwealth Professor of Biology and an authority on biological clocks, was recognized as one of Virginia's six Outstanding Scientists of 2003 by Gov. Mark Warner.
  • Jeffrey Plank (College '68, Graduate Arts and Sciences '69, '75), associate vice president for research and public service, won the 2002 Independent Book Award for Architecture for The Early Louis Sullivan Building Photographs, a collaboration with the late architect and preservationist Crombie Taylor.
  • Dr. Hilary Sanfey, associate professor of surgery, received the 2003 Association for Surgical Education's Outstanding Teacher Award.
  • Warren Byrd (Architecture '78), the Merrill D. Peterson Professor of Landscape Architecture, won three national awards from the American Society of Landscape Architects. Mary Hughes (Architecture '87), landscape architect for the University, and Elizabeth Meyer (Architecture '78, '82), associate professor of landscape architecture, were named members of the organization's Council of Fellows.
  • Paul Walker, a member of the music faculty and director of the University's Early Music Ensemble, received the William H. Scheide Prize from the American Bach Society for his book Theories of Fugue from the Age of Josquin to the Age of Bach.
  • Three members of the faculty - Dr. Diane Snustad, the Claude Moore Professor of Geriatrics; Dr. Laurel W. Rice, associate professor of obstetrics and gynecology; and Dr. Karen Rheuban, professor of pediatrics-are profiled in "Changing the Face of Medicine," an eighteen-month-long exhibition at the National Library of Medicine in Bethesda.
1  2  3