Building On Our Legacy Leaders Across Disciplines For the Common Good Financial Report
Milestones The Student Experience Buidling for Tomorrow
Charting Courses Winning in Many Ways Pitcure of Health
In the inaugural Levinson Lectures on Religion, Culture, and Social Theory, former French prime minister Lionel Jospin joins Harvard political scientist Samuel Huntington and noted journalist Robert D. Kaplan to discuss "America in the World."

The Carter G. Woodson Institute for Afro-American and African Studies receives a $300,000 grant from the Ford Foundation to establish a new center focusing on local knowledge as it relates to race, gender, and nationhood.

Louise Dudley, assistant vice president for University Relations, retires after twelve years as University spokeswoman.
President Casteen, left, receives the Presidents Leadership Group Award from William de Jong, director of the Higher Education Center for Alcohol and Other Drug Prevention.  
For his work addressing alcohol- and drug-abuse problems among students, President John T. Casteen III receives the first Presidents Leadership Group Award from the Department of Education.

John Monahan, the Henry L. and Grace Doherty Charitable Foundation Professor of Law, receives a $3.9 million grant from the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation for a program focusing on mentally ill patients whom the courts instruct to obtain community-based treatment.
To educate students about the Honor System, the Honor Committee produces a CD-ROM for all first-year and transfer students.

The University of Virginia Medical Center is recognized by Solucient as one of the nation's top 100 hospitals.

Barbara Brodie, the Madge M. Jones Professor of Nursing, and Daniel Hallahan, professor of education, are among the ten winners of the Commonwealth of Virginia's Outstanding Faculty awards.

In conjunction with Martin Luther King, Jr., Day, former Freedom Rider Diane Nash comes to the Grounds to discuss the importance of committed leadership.

Philip Zelikow, director of the Miller Center of Public Affairs, is appointed executive director of the independent, bipartisan federal 9/11 commission.

  John Ackerly, U.Va.'s thirty-sixth rector, ends his term.

After five years of presiding over the Board of Visitors, John P. "Jack" Ackerly III (College '57, Law '60) ends his term as the thirty-sixth rector of the University.

Michael Menaker, Commonwealth Professor of Biology and an expert on circadian rhythms, is named one of Virginia's six top scientists for 2003 by Gov. Mark R. Warner.

Tim Koogle speaks at Darden.  
Tim Koogle (Engineering '73), former chairman and CEO of Yahoo!, visits the Grounds as a resident scholar and gives lectures at the School of Engineering and Applied Science, the McIntire School of Commerce, and the Darden Graduate School of Business Administration, where he promotes the value of "disruptive innovation."
1  2  3  4  5  6