People/Web Search Calendar Emergency Info A-Z Index UVA Email University of Virginia
Our office will be closed Friday July 3rd in observance of the Independence Day Holiday. Official transcript orders placed July 3rd will be processed within two business days once we resume our normal business hours on July 6th

UREG: U.Va. Registrar's Office University Registrat at U.Va.

Academic Calendars

NOTE: Calendars are proposed by the Provost's Office and approved by the University President.

The following schools operate on different academic calendars, contact them for further information.

Employee Holiday Schedule - maintained by Human Resources.

Fall Term 2015


- Enrollment Information
- Add/Drop/Withdrawal Deadlines
Orientation Saturday, August 22 - Monday, August 24
Courses beginTuesday, August 25
Add/Drop/WithdrawalVary by school
Reading DaysSaturday, October 03 - Tuesday, October 06
Fall Convocation
Family Weekend
Friday, October 23 - Sunday, October 25
Thanksgiving recessWednesday, November 25 - Sunday, November 29
Courses endTuesday, December 8
Reading DayWednesday, December 9
ExaminationsThursday, December 10 - Friday, December 18
(No exams on Sunday, December 13, or Wednesday, December 16)
Reading DaysSunday, December 13; Wednesday, December 16
Fall degrees conferredWednesday, December 30

January Term 2016

Courses beginMonday, January 4 - Friday, January 15
Courses endFriday, January 15

Spring Term 2016

Courses beginWednesday, January 20
Add/Drop/WithdrawalVary by school
Spring recessSaturday, March 5 - Sunday, March 13
Courses endTuesday, May 3
Reading DayWednesday, May 4
ExaminationsThursday, May 5 - Friday, May 13
(No exams on Sunday, May 8, or Wednesday, May 11)
Reading DaysSunday, May 8; Wednesday, May 11
Final ExercisesSaturday, May 21 and Sunday, May 22

Summer Term 2016

Regular Session
Session IMonday, May 16 - Friday, June 10, Exam Saturday, June 11 Wednesday, August 10: Summer degrees conferred (no ceremony)
Session IIMonday, June 13 - Friday, July 8, Exam Saturday, July 9
Session IIIMonday, July 11- Thursday, August 4, Exam Friday, August 5
Back to Top