People/Web Search Calendar Emergency Info A-Z Index UVA Email University of Virginia

UREG: U.Va. Registrar's Office University Registrat at U.Va.

Academic Calendars

NOTE: Calendars are proposed by the Provost's Office and approved by the University President.

The following schools operate on different academic calendars:

There are also additional programs that operate on different academic calendars.

Click Here to view/download the Summer 2015 - Spring 2016 Start / End dates for all programs that fall outside of the Undergraduate and Graduate Calendars (.pdf format)

Employee Holiday Schedule - maintained by Human Resources.

Spring Term 2016


- Enrollment Information
- Add/Drop/Withdrawal Deadlines
Courses beginWednesday, January 20
Add/Drop/WithdrawalVary by school
Spring recessSaturday, March 5 - Sunday, March 13
Courses endTuesday, May 3
Reading DayWednesday, May 4
ExaminationsThursday, May 5 - Friday, May 13
(No exams on Sunday, May 8, or Wednesday, May 11)
Reading DaysSunday, May 8; Wednesday, May 11
Final ExercisesSaturday, May 21 and Sunday, May 22

Summer Term 2016

Regular Session
Session IMonday, May 16 - Friday, June 10, Exam Saturday, June 11 Registration begins:

Monday, April 11 - 3rd and 4th year students and graduate students

Tuesday, April 12 - 1st and 2nd year students

Wednesday, April 13 - Visiting students


Monday, May 30- Memorial Day Holiday; No Classes

Monday, July 4 - Independence Day Holiday; No Classes

Saturday, Juy 9 - Saturday Exam for Sesson II; Regular Class Day for Eight-Week Session

Wednesday, August 10: - Summer degrees conferred (no ceremony)

Session IIMonday, June 13 - Friday, July 8, Exam Saturday, July 9
Session IIIMonday, July 11- Thursday, August 4, Exam Friday, August 5
Back to Top