10: School of Law

General Information | Admission Information | Financial Aid Information | Career Services
Degree Programs | Academic Regulations | Student Activities and Awards
Annual Law School Awards and Honors | Course Descriptions | Faculty

Budgets | Standard Forms of Financial Aid | Employment Opportunities | Special Scholarships

Special Scholarships

The Financial Aid Office has at its disposal a variety of scholarships which have been donated from individuals and groups. Some of these special scholarships are as follows:

Lacy Withers Armour Scholarship,   chosen by a subcommittee of the Admissions Committee from among applicants with highest overall admissions credentials who would be unable to attend the law school without financial assistance. This award is renewable.

Franklin O. Blechman Scholarship,   established in memory of Franklin O. Blechman, Law Class of 1927. Recipients are nominated by the subcommittee of the Admissions Committee from among those well-rounded applicants who possess a superior academic record, augmented by a record of extracurricular undergraduate activities and communal activities. Preference is given to applicants from the Virginia peninsula. The size of the scholarship will be related to financial need.

Edwin S. Cohen Tax Scholarship,   to be awarded at the end of the second year to students entering their third year who are the highest ranked student from nominees submitted by the tax faculty.

Hardy Cross Dillard, nominated by a subcommittee of the Admissions Committee and selected by the Foundation Selection Committee from among applicants with highest overall admissions credentials who have demonstrated financial need. These scholarships provide, for each of the three years in the Law School, full payment of all tuition and fees, including increases which take place during the three years, plus an annual stipend, which is designed to cover a substantial portion of living and educational expenses. In the first year of law school, the stipend is $5,000 for all Dillard scholars. During the second and third years, the amount of the stipend is determined by a review of the amount of need a student demonstrates in documents filed with the Financial Aid Office. This scholarship is presently the largest that the Law School awards.

David Hartfield, Jr. Memorial Scholarship,  based on scholarship record. This scholarship may also be awarded without regard to need.

S. Philip Heiner Scholarship,   established as a memorial to Philip Heiner. The recipient should be an exceptional student who combines a strong commitment to the University with extraordinary academic achievement.

Society of Cincinnati Scholarship,   awarded principally to second- and third-year Virginia residents who have a good academic record and an expressed desire to practice in Virginia -- especially in a rural or small town.

Union Standish Scholarship,   a need-based scholarship awarded to non-resident students.

William D. Ford Scholarship,   awarded to those who combine sound academic achievement with financial need.

Paul A. Simon Memorial Scholarship,   established in memory of Paul Ashley Simon is awarded to a second- or third-year student on the basis of scholarship, character, and leadership ability. The family serves as the selection committee from nominees provided by the Director of Financial Aid.

Continue to: Career Services
Return to: Chapter 10 Index