10: School of Law

General Information | Admission Information | Financial Aid Information | Career Services
Degree Programs | Academic Regulations | Student Activities and Awards
Annual Law School Awards and Honors | Course Descriptions | Faculty

Annual Law School Awards and Honors

Bracewell and Patterson Oral Advocacy Awards   Established by the Houston firm in 1988. Twenty-four outstanding first-year oral advocates are selected to receive a check and a certificate.

Nathan Burkan Memorial Competition   Monetary prizes are presented by the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers to the two students who write the best essays in patent and copyright law. Winning essays are entered in the national competition.

Mortimer Caplin Public Service Award   Established in 1992 by Mr. Caplin, ‘40, the Commissioner of the Internal Revenue Service under President Kennedy, and given at commencement to a graduating student who is entering a career in the public service sector and who demonstrates the qualities of leadership, integrity and service to others.

Edwin S. Cohen Tax Prize   This monetary prize is given annually to the graduating student who has demonstrated, by the sustained excellence of his or her performance in tax courses, superior scholarship in the tax area.

Hardy Cross Dillard Prize   Established in honor of Hardy Cross Dillard, retired Judge of the International Court of Justice, and former Dean and James Monroe Professor of Law. This monetary prize and a plaque are awarded to the author of the best student note in current volume of the Virginia Journal of International Law.

Charles J. Frankel Award in Health Law   Established in 1989 by the American College of Legal Medicine Foundation in honor of Dr. Frankel, a graduate of the Law School. The monetary award is presented to a third-year student who has shown distinction in the field of health law.

Robert E. Goldsten (‘40) Award   Established by the man for whom it is named and given to the student who, in the opinion of the faculty, has contributed most during law school to classroom participation. The winner receives a certificate of recognition at graduation and a lifetime membership in the University of Virginia Alumni Association.

Eppa Hunton IV Memorial Book Award   Established in 1977 by the Richmond, Virginia law firm of Hunton & Williams, in honor of Eppa Hunton IV, ‘27. The award is presented annually to that third-year student who has demonstrated unusual aptitude in courses in litigation, and who has shown a keen awareness and understanding of the lawyer’s ethical and professional responsibility.

Margaret G. Hyde Award   Established in 1930 by Forrest J. Hyde, Jr., ‘15. Under the terms of the donation, a monetary award is made to an outstanding member of the graduating class whose scholarship, character, personality, activities in the affairs of the School, and promise of efficiency have in the opinion of the law faculty entitled him or her to special recognition.

Jackson and Walker Award   This monetary award is presented by the Dallas law firm to that student who has attained the highest grade point average in his or her class after four semesters.

Robert F. Kennedy Award for Public Service   Established in 1989 by the Student Legal Forum, a monetary award is presented to the graduate who, during his or her law school years, best exemplified the ideals of the late Senator Kennedy through active and effective community service.

Herbert L. Kramer Community Service Award   Established in 1989 by Mr. Kramer, ‘52. It is a monetary award given annually to the third-year student who has contributed the most to the community during his or her stay in law school.

Law School Alumni Association Award for Academic Excellence   An engraved julep cup, which is presented to the student who has had the most outstanding academic record during his or her three years in law school.

Law School Alumni Association Best Note Award   This monetary award is presented to the member of the Law Review who wrote the best note in the current volume of the Review.

Thomas Marshall Miller Prize   Established by Emily Miller Danton in 1982 in memory of her father, Thomas Marshall Miller, who attended the Law School, this monetary award is given annually to an outstanding and deserving member of the graduating class, selected by the faculty.

National Association of Women Lawyers Award   This honorary membership in the National Association of Women Lawyers is awarded each year to an outstanding woman student in the graduating class.

John M. Olin Prize in Law and Economics   A monetary award given by the Olin Foundation to the graduate or graduates who have produced outstanding work in the field of law and economics.

Mary Claiborne and Roy H. Ritter Prizes   These four prizes for character, honor, and integrity were established in 1985 by C. Willis Ritter ,‘65, to honor his parents. Under the terms of the award, four monetary prizes are given annually to two female and two male members of the second-year class. The prize is applied against each recipient’s tuition during his or her final year of study. In addition, each recipient is given an appropriate certificate and the names of the winners also appear on a plaque in the library.

Shannon Award   Established by the Z Society to encourage outstanding scholarship at the University, the award is presented each year to the student who has contributed the most to the academic excellence of the Law School.

Earle K. Shawe Labor Relations Award   Established in honor of the late Hardy C. Dillard, by Earle K. Shawe, ‘34. Mr. Shawe is the founder and senior partner of Shawe & Rosenthal, a Baltimore firm devoted exclusively to labor and employment law. This monetary award is given to the graduating student who shows the greatest promise of becoming a successful practitioner in the field of labor relations.

James C. Slaughter Honor Award   This monetary award was established by the Textile Veterans Association in honor of James C. Slaughter, ‘51, and is presented to an outstanding member of the graduating class.

Stephen Pierre Traynor Award   This award for excellence in appellate advocacy was established in 1970 by the late Roger J. Traynor, former Chief Justice of the California Supreme Court, in memory of his son. The monetary award is presented to the participant in the final round of the William Minor Lile Moot Court Competition who, in the opinion of the judges of the final round, presents the best oral argument.

Roger and Madeleine Traynor Prize   Established in 1980 by a gift from retired Chief Justice and Mrs. Traynor of California, these prizes are awarded each year to acknowledge the best written work by two graduating students. Each winner receives an appropriate certificate and a monetary award for the written effort.

Trial Advocacy Award   The Virginia Trial Lawyers Association presents an award to a graduating student who best exemplifies the attributes of the effective trial lawyer.

Virginia State Bar Family Law Book Award   Established by the Family Law Section of the Virginia State Bar and the Virginia Chapter of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers, and this award is presented to the graduating student who has demonstrated the most promise and potential for the practice of family law.

Continue to: Course Descriptions
Return to: Chapter 10 Index