University Committee on Sustainability





Charge of the Committee

The  Committee on Sustainability advises the Executive Vice President and Chief  Operating Officer, through the Architect for the University, on all matters  related to the overall quality, diligence, and progress of the University’s  commitment to sustainability in the broad sense of environmental, economic, and  social impacts, and their relationship to the future of the University.  In carrying out this charge, the Committee  shall be engaged in the following:

  • Recommend policies, procedures, and priorities that will promote the highest-standards of sustainable practice across the University including but not limited to business operations, energy production and utilization, and design and management of facilities
  • Provide guidance in the development of communication plans with the goal of increasing sustainable behavior among faculty, staff, and students
  • Recommend and encourage the development of new opportunities to educate the University community on sustainable thinking and practice
  • Review and comment on the University’s progress toward measurable sustainability objectives
  • Review and comment on the University’s responses to  major national surveys and/or voluntary compliance with regard to an  institutional plan toward the reduction in CO2 emissions and related  environmental impacts

Committee Membership

David J. Neuman, Architect for the University, Chair of Committee
Ida Lee Wootten, Director of Community Relations, Chair of Outreach Subcommittee
Cheryl L. Gomez, Director of Energy and Utilities, Co-Chair of Environmental Impact Subcommittee
Donald E. Sundgren, Chief Facilities Officer, Co-Chair of Environmental Impact Subcommittee
Mark A. White, Associate Professor, Chair of Education & Research Subcommittee
Rebecca White, Director of Parking & Transportation
Fred A. Missel, Director of Design & Development, UVA Foundation
Jessica S. Wenger, Environmental Projects Manager, Environmental Health & Safety
Kristin L. Morgan, Director of University & Community Relations and Development, Office for Diversity & Equity
Amy J. Muldoon, Employee Councils Representative
William C. Keene Jr., Research Professor, Faculty Senate Representative
Wynne Stuart, Associate Provost for Academic Support and Classroom Management
Kevin E. Fox, Administrator, Medical Center Facilities Planning & Capital Development
Reba S. Camp, Administrator, Environment of Care, Medical Center Administration
Jason G. Weinstein, Senior Director, Enterprise Infrastructure, Information Technology Services
Scott R. Norris, Director of Business Services, Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs
Karen J. McGlathery, Associate Vice President for Research, Sustainability and the Environment
Timothy J. White, Senior Immigration Consultant, University Human Resources
Phoebe Crisman, Associate Professor of Architecture
Jonathan Z. Cannon, Professor of Law
Alyssa M. Tsantes, Undergraduate Student
Julia J. Kwolyk, Graduate Student
Andrew J. Greene, Sustainability Planner, Secretary (ex-officio member)

Committee Meetings

The Committee meets every 5 weeks. The following meetings are scheduled for spring 2014, all will be held in Newcomb Hall Room 389.

Friday, February 7, 10 am

Monday, March 3, 11 am

Friday, April 11, 11 am

Wednesday, May 14, 11 am

Committee Notes & Materials

Committee Notes – December 13, 2013

Committee Notes – May 23, 2013

2012 Annual Report

2011 Annual Report

2010 Annual Report

2009 Annual Report