For Journalists



Awards Celebrate U.Va. Teaching

April 7, 2000 -- Seven University of Virginia professors and five graduate teaching assistants, admired for extraordinary dedication and ability to inspire, will receive 2000 University-wide awards honoring outstanding teaching.

This year’s recipients, selected by a committee from many nominations backed by vivid testimonials from students and colleagues, will be honored April 12 in the Rotunda at U.Va.'s ninth annual "In Celebration of Teaching" banquet, hosted by President John T. Casteen III and Vice President and Provost Peter W. Low.

As always, the choices were both difficult and inspiring for selection committee members, said Vice Provost Barbara Nolan, who coordinated the awards process. "The winners the committee chose reflect in many different, individual ways the dedication and skill of our faculty as whole. Although we can honor only a handful of teachers each year, these awards also always celebrate the countless daily teaching achievements of all our professors and graduate instructors."

Receiving this year's teaching awards are:

• Larry J. Sabato, the Robert Kent Gooch Professor of Government and Foreign Affairs: the Alumni Association Distinguished Professor Award. The annual award is given to a faculty member who has excelled as a teacher, shown unusual concern for students and made significant contributions to University life for at least a decade. The winner receives a $2,500 prize.

• Luann J. Lynch, assistant professor of business administration: The Alumni Board of Trustees Teaching Award. The award is given to an assistant professor for demonstrated skill in teaching and carries a $1,000 prize, with $1,500 in additional support and offers a semester's research assignment.

Winners of All-University Outstanding Teaching Awards, each carrying a $2,000 prize and recognizing ability to inspire and motivate students, are:

• Kenneth S. Abraham, the Class of 1962 Professor of Law and Albert C. Tate Jr. Research Professor

• Dr. Valentina L. Brashers, associate professor of nursing

• Dr. Julia C. Iezzoni, associate professor of pathology

• Cheryl L. Krueger, associate professor of French

• David Waldner, assistant professor of government and foreign affairs

Winners of All-University Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Awards, each carrying a $1,000 prize for teaching excellence, are:

• Karlyn Crowley, Department of English

• Jessica Howell, Department of Economics

Oliver Frauenfeld, Department of Environmental Sciences

Winners of the Resident Teaching Awards in the School of Medicine, each receiving a $1,000 prize, are Dr. Laurence Brinckerhoff, Department of Surgery, and Dr. Mitchell H. Rosner, Department of Internal Medicine.

Also honored at the banquet will be Dennis R. Proffitt, professor of psychology, who holds the Cavaliers' Distinguished Teaching Professorship this year. The rotating endowed professorship recognizing excellent teaching is partly supported by athletic bowl earnings.

For additional information about the awards please contact Barbara Nolan at (804) 982-2814 or Bob Brickhouse in U.Va. News Services at (804) 924-7116.

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: please contact the Office of University Relations at (804) 924-7116. Television reporters should contact the TV News Office at (804) 924-7550.
SOURCE: U.Va. News Services


UVa News Sources UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page UVa News Sources UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page

Top news site edited by Jane Ford (; maintained by Karen Asher (; releases posted by Suzanne Raileanu (
Last Modified: Friday, 07-Apr-2000 16:21:50 EDT
© 2000 by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia
Topnews Information: (804) 924-4298.

News Sources UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page News Sources UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page UVa News Sources UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page UVa News Sources UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar Uva Home Page