For Journalists




Australian Architect Glenn Murcutt To Receive 36th Annual Jefferson Architecture Medal At The University Of Virginia

January 16, 2001-- Glenn Murcutt, a major figure in world architecture who is known for his ecologically sensitive work that synthesizes elements of regional vernacular with modernist tradition, will receive the 36th annual Thomas Jefferson Medal in Architecture at the University of Virginia during its Founder’s Day celebration at a private luncheon in the Rotunda on April 12. He will give a public lecture on April 11 at 2 p.m. in Old Cabell Hall.

Murcutt has worked almost exclusively alone in his practice, single-handedly guiding every aspect of a project from conception to completion. Even with worldwide recognition in the past few years, he has resisted the pressure to expand and alter the integrity of his careful working methodology.

Using glass, steel and aluminum, Murcutt’s designs integrate the structure with the landscape and complement the natural environment. He has won an international following for his high craft, originality and economical construction methods in response to site, climate and client requirements. Considered both an environmentalist and a naturalist, he has long been interested in traditional societies and his work with Australia’s Aboriginal community and culture and their sense of place has been a cornerstone of his architecture.

The 1992 recipient of Finland’s Alvar Aalto Medal, one of the world’s most prestigious architecture awards, Murcutt taught graduate studios in U.Va.’s School of Architecture as the Thomas Jefferson Visiting Professor in spring 1998.

The Jefferson Medal in Architecture, for lasting contributions to a field that deeply interested the University’s founder, is, with the Jefferson Medal in Law, the highest outside honor offered by U.Va., which grants no honorary degrees.



1966 Mies van der Rohe

1984 H. H. The Aga Khan

1967 Alvar Aalto

1985 Leon Krier

1968 Marcel Breurer

1986 James Stirling

1969 John Ely Burchard

1987 Romaldo Giurgola

1970 Kenzo Tange

1988 Dan Kiley

1971 Jose Luis Sert

1989 Paul Mellon

1972 Lewis Mumford

1990 Fumihiko Maki

1973 Jean Labatut

1991 John V. Lindsay

1974 Frei Otto

1992 Aldo Rossi

1975 Sir Nikolaus Pevsner

1993 Andres M. Duany

1976 I.M. Pei

& Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk

1977 Ada Louise Huxtable

1994 Frank O. Gehry

1978 Philip Johnson

1995 Ian L. McHarg

1979 Lawrence Halprin

1996 Jane Jacobs

1980 Hugh A. Stubbins

1997 Jaime Lerner

1981 Edward Larrabee Barnes

1998 Jaquelin T. Robertson

1982 Vincent Scully

1999 Lord Richard Rogers

1983 Robert Venturi

2000 Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan

Contact: Jane Ford: (804) 924-4298

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Contact the Office of University Relations at (804) 924-7116. Television reporters should contact the TV News Office at (804) 924-7550.
SOURCE: U.Va. News Services


UVa News Sources UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page UVa News Sources UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page

Top news site edited by Dan Heuchert (; maintained by Karen Asher (; releases posted by Sally Barbour (
Last Modified: Tuesday, 27-Feb-2001 14:57:00 EST
© 2001 by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia
Topnews Information: (804) 924-7676.

News Sources UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page News Sources UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page UVa News Sources UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page UVa News Sources UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar Uva Home Page