For Journalists




Award Ceremony Will Be Held Feb. 24

U.Va. Art Museum Announces 2001 Writer's Eye Competition Winners

January 24, 2002-- Each year the University of Virginia Art Museum presents the Writer’s Eye, a competition organized by the museum’s docents that invites participants from third graders to adults to submit original prose and poetry compositions inspired by selected works on view in the museum. This year’s competition received more than 1,100 entries — the greatest number in the history of the competition.

Those awarded first, second, third place and honorable mention will be recognized at a special ceremony on Sunday, Feb. 24.

Winners of the 2001Writer’s Eye

Poetry: Grades 3-5

First , Nellie Peyton (Crossroads Waldorf School)

Second, Josephine Blount (Mary C. Greer Elementary School)

Third, EmilyKlein (Charlottesville Catholic School)

Honorable Mention, Hayden Barns (Venable Elementary School)

Kathryn Mann (Stone-Robinson Elementary School

Prose: Grades 3-5

First, Eva Phillips (The Covenant School)

Second, Rachel Holler (The Village School)

Third, Lauren Barrow (Stone-Robinson Elementary School)

Honorable Mention, EmilyHornsby (Venable Elementary School)

Emma Asher (Stone-Robinson Elementary School)

Ariel Schwartz (The Peabody School)

Ethan Baruch (Meriwether Lewis Elementary School)

Poetry: Grades 6-8

First, Natalie Goldbarb (Buford Middle School)

Second, Meredith Taylor (Burley Middle School)

Third, Lily Wren Collins (St. Anne’s-Belfield School)

Honorable Mention, Josette Rose Justice (The Village School)

Prose: Grades 6-8

First, Hannah McDonald-Moniz (Buford Middle School)

Second, Kai Larson (The Peabody School)

Third, Luryann Dowell-Wiltshire (Buford Middle School)

Honorable Mention, Whitney Neubhauser (Burley Middle School)

Taylor Davis (Grymes Memorial School)

Poetry: Grades 9-12

First , Claire Whitenack (Albemarle High School)

Second, Martha Morris (William Monroe High School)

Third, Michael Rutherglen (Charlottesville High School)

Honorable Mention, Jake Minturn (Tandem Friends School)

Jocelyn Spaar (Charlottesville High School)

Zak Jarrett (Murray High School)

Kimber Lewis (Murray High School)

Prose: Grades 9-12

First, Sarah Chase-Levenson (Charlottesville High School)

Second, Sabrina G. Watson (Fluvanna High School)

Third, David Weiner (Charlottesville High School)

Honorable Mention, Lydia Lichtenberger (Charlottesville High School)

Olivia Bloom (Charlottesville High School)

Katie Reid (Charlottesville High School)

Emily Izakowitz (Charlottesville High School)

Emily Quanbeck (Charlottesville High School)

Poetry: University/Adult

First, Jad Donohoe

Second, Meaghan Bailey

Third, Dana Bost

Honorable Mention, Julia Megan Webb

James Nohrnberg

Charlotte Wellen

Prose: University/Adult

First, Ann S. Wicks

Second, Michael Slon

Third, None awarded

Honorable Mention, Marjorie W. Shepherd

Margaret C. Redmond

Elizabeth Stanek

P. T. Rockwell

Contact: Jane Ford, (434) 924-4298

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Contact the Office of University Relations at (434) 924-7116. Television reporters should contact the TV News Office at (434) 924-7550.

SOURCE: U.Va. News Services


UVa News Sources UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page UVa News Sources UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page

Top News site edited by Dan Heuchert (; maintained by Karen Asher (; releases posted by Sally Barbour (
Last Modified: Thursday, 24-Jan-2002 14:19:34 EST
© 2002 by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia
Top News Information: (434) 924-7676.

News Sources UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page News Sources UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page UVa News Sources UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page UVa News Sources UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar Uva Home Page