For Journalists




U.Va. President John T. Casteen III Selected To Serve On Alcohol And Other Drug Prevention Leadership Group

July 10, 2003-- The Higher Education Center for Alcohol and Other Drug Prevention announced that John T. Casteen III, president of the University of Virginia is one of nine university presidents selected to serve on the Presidents Leadership Group.

The group, created by the Higher Education Center for Alcohol and Other Drug Prevention Education Development Center, Inc., is comprised of college and university presidents and chancellors who have made student substance abuse prevention a priority on their campuses.

The addition today of new members marks the continued commitment by the Higher Education Center to highlight and promote the critical role of presidential leadership in collegiate alcohol and other drug prevention.

With support from The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the PLG represents a broad array of institutions and includes officials from 45 campuses in 27 states. Officials serve as prevention spokespersons, change agents, and models for other presidents; they also support statewide and regional alcohol and other drug prevention efforts, adopting leadership roles in existing regional initiatives or taking the lead in states where statewide efforts have not yet taken hold.

“Presidents are in a unique position to invigorate and influence prevention efforts on their campuses and in their communities,” said William Delong, director of the Higher Education Center. “We look forward to working with the new members of the PLG as they continue to demonstrate how presidents may best serve this critical role, drawing upon campus resources and enlisting both campus and community constituencies in prevention.”

New members were chosen based on their previous alcohol and other drug prevention efforts as well as their future plans for leadership in this area. The rigorous selection process required applicants to submit personal statements, letters of support from people within their institution and their surrounding community, and their campus’s biennial review reports - a federal reporting requirement under the Drug-Free Schools and Campuses Regulations.

"It is an honor to be part of the Presidents Leadership Group. Our common interest is the health and well-being of the young people who come to universities and colleges to study and to prepare for the future," Casteen said. “Substance abuse issues remain important, and our work will continue."

The following college and university leaders have been selected to be part of the PLG:

Institution President/Chancellor
Alvernia College Laurence W. Mazzeno
California State University, Bakersfield Tomas A. Arciniega
Central Washington University Jerilyn McIntyre
Northwest Missouri State University Dean L. Hubbard
Southeast Missouri State University Kenneth W. Dobbins
University of Iowa David J. Skorton
University of Miami Donna E. Shalala
University of Virginia John T. Casteen III
University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire Donald J. Mash

The Higher Education Center formed the original PLG in 1997. That year, the six-member PLG published an alcohol prevention report urging college presidents to become more active leaders on this issue on their campuses and in their surrounding communities. Copies of the PLG report, Be Vocal, Be Visible, Be Visionary: Recommendations for College and University Presidents on Alcohol and Other Drug Prevention, and its companion video can be obtained by visiting the Higher Education Center’s Web site at

The Higher Education Center for Alcohol and Other Drug Prevention serves as the national resource center for institutions of higher education concerned with reducing alcohol and other drug use. Funded by the U.S. Department of Education, with supplemental funding from The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the Higher Education Center offers training, technical assistance, publications, and other information to assist those who want to take an active part in changing the environment in which students make decisions about alcohol and other drug use. The Higher Education Center is based at Education Development Center, Inc., an internationally known nonprofit educational research and development organization located in Newton, Massachusetts.

For additional information, contact the Higher Education Center by telephone (800-676-1730) or through the Internet ( The Higher Education Center's Web site ( provides one-stop shopping for alcohol and other drug prevention in higher education.

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, based in Princeton, N.J., is the nation's largest philanthropy devoted exclusively to health and health care. It concentrates its grantmaking in four goal areas: to assure that all Americans have access to quality health care at reasonable cost; to improve the quality of care and support for people with chronic health conditions; to promote healthy communities and lifestyles; and to reduce the personal, social and economic harm caused by substance abuse - tobacco, alcohol and illicit drugs.

The following presidents and chancellors will continue to serve as members of the PLG:

Institution President/Chancellor

Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania Jessica Kozloff
California State University, Fresno John Welty
California State University System Charles B. Reed
Clarkson College J. W. Upright
Coker College B. James Dawson
College of Santa Fe Linda Hanson
Edgewood College James Ebben
Frederick Community College Patricia Stanley
Illinois College Axel Steuer
Lehigh University Gregory Farrington
Miami-Dade Community College
Medical Center Campus Kathie S. Sigler
North Idaho College Michael Burke
Prairie View A & M University Charles Hines (retired)
Raritan Valley Community College G. Jeremiah Ryan
San Antonio College Robert E. Zeigler
San Diego Community College District Augustine Gallego
San Diego State University Stephen Weber
Southeastern Louisiana University Randy Moffett
SUNY, Potsdam John Fallon
University at Albany, SUNY Karen Hitchcock
University of Bridgeport Neil Salonen
University of California, Santa Barbara Henry Yang
University of Delaware David Roselle
University of Kentucky Lee Todd
University of Michigan Mary Sue Coleman
University of Missouri, Rolla Gary Thomas
University of Pittsburgh at Greensburg Frank Cassell
University of Puget Sound Susan Pierce (retired)
University of Rhode Island Robert Carothers
University of San Diego Alice Hayes (retired)
University of Wyoming Philip Dubois
University System of Maryland William Kirwan
Vanderbilt University Gordon Gee
Weber State University Paul Thompson (retired)
West Virginia University, Parkersburg Erik Bitterbaum
Western Washington University Karen Morse

Contact: Carol Wood, (434) 924-1400

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Contact the Office of University Relations at (434) 924-7116. Television reporters should contact the TV News Office at (434) 924-7550.

SOURCE: U.Va. News Services


UVa News Sources UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page UVa News Sources UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page

Top News site edited by Dan Heuchert (; maintained by Karen Asher (; releases posted by Sally Barbour (
Last Modified: Thursday, 24-Jul-2003 08:17:00 EDT
© 2002 by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia
Top News Information: (434) 924-7676.

News Sources UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page News Sources UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page UVa News Sources UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page UVa News Sources UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar Uva Home Page