For Journalists

   
INFORMATION FOR JOURNALISTS
NEWS SERVICES
Main Telephone Number:
(434) 924-7116
Fax number:
(434) 924-0938


Mailing Address:
University of Virginia News Services
400 Ray C. Hunt Drive, Suite 200
Box 400229
Charlottesville, VA 22904-4229

To locate U.Va. experts in the following fields and categories, contact the staff person listed below:

Development, Capital Campaign, University Administration:
Carol Wood, (434) 924-6189 or cwood@virginia.edu

Public Service programs, Miller Center of Public Affairs, University Library, University Press, Humanities, Virginia Foundation for the Humanities:
Mary Carlson, (434) 924-3629 or mcarlson@virginia.edu

African-American Affairs, Business, Economics, Government, Engineering, Patent Foundation, World Cultures and Languages, Institute for Practical Ethics, Politics:
Charlotte Crystal, (434) 924-6858 or ccrystal@virginia.edu

Architecture, Art, Music, Drama, University Art Museum:

Jane Ford, (434) 924-4298 or jford@virginia.edu

Major Events (including Finals Exercises):
Carolyn Dillard, (434) 982-3030 or cdillard@virginia.edu

Basic and Environmental Sciences, including Astronomy, Atmospheric Chemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Climate and Weather, Geology, Mathematics, Meteorology, Physics, Psychology:
Fariss Samarrai, (434) 924-3778 or farisss@virginia.edu

Curry School of Education, The Women’s Center, Diversity Issues:
Anne Bromley, (434) 924-6861 or anneb@virginia.edu

School of Continuing and Professional Studies, Religious Studies:
Brevy Cannon, (434) 243-0368 or brevy@virginia.edu

Facilities, ROTC
Matt Kelly, (434) 924-7291 or mkelly@virginia.edu

For experts in other areas of the University, to report breaking news or to share story ideas for Inside UVA or Top News Daily:
Kathleen Valenzi, (434) 924-6857 or kvalenzi@virginia.edu

Other key staff members in News Services:

Rebecca Arrington, assistant news editor
(434) 924-7189 or rpa@virginia.edu

Brendan Matthews, assistant news editor
(434) 924-7676 or mathews@virginia.edu

Karen Asher, Top News Daily editor
(434) 924-7078 or kac@virginia.edu

Sally Barbour, Inside UVA Online Web editor, technology and production specialist
(434) 924-7116 or sab4w@virginia.edu

Dan Addison, news photographer
(434) 924-3801 or dka6n@virginia.edu



COMMUNITY RELATIONS
Main Telephone Number: (434) 924-1321
Fax number: (434) 924-0938


Mailing Address:
Community Relations
University of Virginia
400 Ray C. Hunt Drive
PO Box 400229
Charlottesville, VA 22904-4229


Community Relations Director, Ida Lee Wootten. (434) 924-1321 or idaleew@virginia.edu


TV NEWS OFFICE
Main Phone Number: (434) 924-7550
Fax number: (434) 924-0938

Mailing Address:
TV News
University of Virginia
400 Ray C. Hunt Drive
PO Box 400229
Charlottesville, VA 22904-4229

For Television media assistance including locating university experts, reserving an interview location or providing satellite uplink information and betaSP B-roll, contact the Television News Office main number at (434) 924-7550.

Sheri B. Winston, Director of TV News. (434) 924-6182 or sbw2e@virginia.edu

Robert D. Smith, Senior Producer. (434) 924-1407 or rds4w@virginia.edu

Anna Van Clief, Public Relations Assistant Specialist. (434) 924-7550 or : annav@virginia.edu

Carolyn Dillard, Public Relations Specialist. (434) 982-3030 or cem9v@virginia.edu

U.VA. HEALTH SYSTEM
Peter Jump, Interim Director of Public Relations. (434) 924-5679 or prj4p@virginia.edu

DARDEN GRADUATE SCHOOL OF BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION
Ken White, Vice President and Director of Communications.
(434) 924-3220

SCHOOL OF LAW
Mary Wood, Web and Communications Manager. (434) 924-3786 or mwood@virginia.edu
Web site for news/media

SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING AND APPLIED SCIENCE
Josie Loyd, Assistant Vice President and Director of Communications. (434) 924-1381/924-3045 or jpp4j@virginia.edu

MCINTIRE SCHOOL OF COMMERCE
Jim Travisano, Communications Director. (434) 924-7005 or jet7d@virginia.edu

SCHOOL OF NURSING
Dory Hulse, Director of Communications. (434) 924-0085 or doryhulse@virginia.edu

DIVISION OF CONTINUING EDUCATION, NORTHERN VIRGINIA CENTER, FALLS CHURCH
Steven Gladis, Director. (703) 536-1120 or sdg4n@virginia.edu

THE UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA'S COLLEGE AT WISE
Jane Meade-Dean, Director of College Relations. (276) 328-0130 or jmeade-dean@virginia.edu

UVa News Sources UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page

Top News site edited and maintained by Karen Asher (kac@virginia.edu); releases posted by Sally Barbour (sab4w@virginia.edu).
Last Modified:
© 2006 by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia
Top News information: (434) 924-7078.

News Sources UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page News Sources UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page News Sources UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page UVa Top News UVa WebCalendar UVa Home Page