Skip to Content

Committee on Financial Aid

Committee Reporting Relationship

The Committee reports to the Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer.


The members of the Committee on Financial Aid provide the perspectives of the schools and units represented to the executive sponsor, and serve as ambassadors to key stakeholders on matters related to financial aid policy and administration, including:

  • Providing guidance and feedback on policies related to financial aid.
  • Providing feedback on those components of the student aid budget that are not approved by the Board of Visitors (off-Grounds room and board, books, travel, and other costs) and reviewing the components of the student aid budget approved by the Board of Visitors (tuition, fees, and on-Grounds room and board) to be charged to students to attend the various schools of the University.
  • Participating, through the appointment of immediate past chair or designee, on the University’s financial aid working group in the consideration of financial aid issues.
  • Periodically receiving an update and providing feedback on the packaging methodology (ratio of loan and work-study to scholarships in accordance with available funds) that will be utilized by the University.
  • Informing and educating the faculties and administrations from the various schools and the student body regarding the University’s financial aid policies.
  • Participating, through the appointment of at least three but not more than five (including the chair) members, in appeals from student-athletes who either have lost their grant-in-aid or who have had it reduced.
  • Participating, through the appointment of at least one member, in the appeals of need-based undergraduate financial aid awards.
  • Offering feedback on the deployment of any available emergency funds.

Committee Structure

The Committee membership is comprised of three at-large student members, appointed for an up to three-year term through graduation, and three at-large faculty members, appointed for a three-year term, renewable once.  In addition, representatives from the following schools and offices serve as standing members, without term:

  • School of Architecture
  • College of Arts & Sciences
  • Graduate School of Arts & Sciences
  • Darden School of Business
  • McIntire School of Commerce
  • School of Continuing & Professional Studies
  • Curry School of Education
  • School of Engineering & Applied Science
  • School of Law
  • Frank Batten School of Leadership & Public Policy
  • School of Medicine
  • School of Nursing
  • Office of Undergraduate Admission
  • Office of African-American Affairs
  • Department of Athletics
  • Budget Office
  • Office of the Dean of Students
  • Office of the Executive Vice President & Provost
  • International Studies Office

The Associate Vice President for Finance, the Assistant Vice President for Student Financial Services, the Director of Student Financial Aid, and Assistant Vice President/Chief of Staff for the EVP/COO serve in an ex officio fashion, representing the Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer.