Skip to Content

Radiation Safety Committee

Committee Reporting Relationship

The Committee reports to the Vice President for Research.


The Radiation Safety Committee is charged with the responsibility of formulating and recommending policies and procedures to maintain compliance with State and Federal regulations and to assure radiological safety for all University personnel as well as the surrounding community. This responsibility relates to and includes the radiological aspects involved in the safe use and disposition of all ionizing radiation sources.

Committee Structure

The Committee, appointed by the Vice President for Research, consists of up to 20 faculty/staff members from selected areas within the Academic Division and the Health System consistent with the guidelines provided by the Virginia Department of Health’s Radiological Health Program. The Committee is chaired by the University's Director of Environmental Health and Safety. The University's Radiation Safety Officers serve as ex-officio members.