Conflict of Interest

The University is committed to conducting the highest quality research. This commitment requires an unwavering commitment to research objectivity. The Conflicts of Interest Committee (COI) considers financial disclosures made by investigators and key personnel who have significant financial interests related to their research and recommends to the Vice President of Research how the conflict should be managed, reduced or eliminated.

A COI investigator is any individual, regardless of title, role or position, who is responsible for the design, conduct, or reporting of research on a proposal to a relevant federal agency/under a relevant solicitation.


UVA Process


Financial Conflicts of Interest

If a researcher has a personal financial interest that may bias or appear to bias his research, he could have a research-related financial conflict of interest. Virginia law, federal research rules, and University policy define and regulate these conflicts.

  • The Financial COI form must be filled out every 12 months.
  • FAQ

    Online Disclosure System

    Human Subjects Research

    Exemption Request

    By the Numbers

    • Federal Funding: $260m
    • Total Research: $338m

    UVa’s total research funding $338 million, of which $260 million is federal research dollars.

    Download the PDF

    CITI Training Program

    The Collaborative Institutional Training Initiative (CITI Program) is dedicated to promoting the public’s trust in the research enterprise by providing high quality, peer-reviewed, web-based educational courses in research, ethics, regulatory oversight, responsible conduct of research, research administration, and other topics pertinent to the interests of member organizations and individual learners.

  • Please read the instructions and complete the online Conflict of Interest training course.
  • This training needs to be completed every 4 years.
  • Conflict of Interest Committee

    Voting Members

    Name Representing
    Catherine BradshawCurry
    Stewart CraigSOM
    Jerry DonowitzSOM
    Jean EbySOM, PBHS
    James GrovesSEAS
    David HudsonVPR
    James LandersSEAS
    Mimi RileyLAW, Batten
    Michael StraightiffLVG
    Patti TereskerzChair
    Steve WassermanSOM
    Andy WicksDarden

    Non-voting Members

    Name Representing
    Beth HodsonLC
    Rob MerhigeVPR
    Charlotta WristonSOM, Compliance
    Cheryl WagnerVPR, Compliance