Inter-Fraternity Council

Located in Room 171 of Newcomb Hall
Map of Chapter Houses

2014-2015 IFC Executive Board Officers

President Tommy Reid
VP Judiciary Chase Pion
VP Membership Paul Van Pernis
VP Risk Management David Fontenot


Statement on “SPE” Fraternity: Read Here

The fraternity system at the University of Virginia has a long-standing tradition of excellence in leadership and service. Since 1852, fraternities have been an integral part of each student’s quest to become a well-rounded individual within the University community. The wide variety of interests and personalities within the system provide unparalleled camaraderie and support, which last much longer than a brother’s stay at the University.

Established in 1934, the Inter-Fraternity Council (IFC) governs thirty social fraternities. The Governing Board, which consists of nine Executive Committee members and seven at-large members, represents the core of the IFC. The Inter-Fraternity Council works with the members of the Presidents’ Council in an effort to continue to strengthen the fraternity community at the University through progressive policies, programs and education.

The active fraternities that are part of the Inter-Fraternity Council are: