Skip to Content


President's Commission on Diversity and Equity

The President's Commission on Diversity and Equity is charged with assessing the quality of the student experience within the University with special attention to the experiences of women and minorities. Click here for a list of members.


Casteen, BOV Applaud Diversity Commissions Plan - Top News Daily - June 12, 2004 - It would take more than the threat of a tornado to deter the U.Va. Board of Visitor’s meeting, held on Grounds Friday. As the dark clouds lifted, a silver lining prevailed for the University — a plan to establish a chief officer for diversity and equity and to develop bold initiatives that will quickly position U.Va. as a leader among public institutions in these areas. Read More.

Embracing Diversity in the Pursuit of Excellence - Top News Daily - June 12, 2004 - A written transcript of the Oral Presentation to President Casteen and the Board of Visitors' Special Committee on Diversity. Presented by Angela M. Davis and Michael J. Smith, co-chairs, President’s Commission on Diversity and Equity 11 June 2004. Read More.

Commission on Diversity Holds Retreat
Oct. 23, 2003 - President Casteen-appointed group takes retreat over fall break, splits into four groups to help gauge University's racial climate... Read More.

Diversity Commission Chair Meets With Board
Oct. 3, 2003 - Politics Prof. Michael J. Smith and Angela Davis, associate dean of students for student life, met for the first time with the Board of Visitors' Special Committee on Diversity in the board room of the Rotunda... Read More.

Diversity Commission Begins U.Va. Race Probe
Sept. 14, 2003 - The University of Virginia's diversity commission has launched its probe of race relations at the school, six months after a reported attack of a minority student rattled many in the community. The 32-member group, dubbed the President's Commission on Diversity and Equity, met briefly last week in an unpublicized gathering. The meeting was short, President John T. Casteen III's message cautiously worded.

Casteen Delivers Charge to Diversity Commission
Sept. 9, 2003 - President John T. Casteen III delivered his charge to commission members, a diverse group of students, staff, faculty and community members, advising them "neither to fear controversy nor to compromise a single inch" when it comes to equity and fairness for every member of the student body at the University of Virginia. He asked the group to assess the quality of the student experience in all its aspects. Read more.

Commission Membership

Angela Davis, Associate Dean of Students for Residence Life
Michael Smith, professor of politics

Members and Subcommittees:

Student Life and Climate (both undergraduate and graduate)

Co-chairs: Brian Balogh, associate professor of history, and Valerie Gregory, director of outreach, Office of Admission

Maurice Apprey, professor in psychiatric medicine
Rev. Alvin Edwards, pastor of Mt. Zion Baptist Church
Timothy Heaphy, alumnus
Vicky Jones, undergraduate student
Priya Parker, undergraduate student
Sylvia Terry, associate dean and director of the Peer Advisor Program, African-American Affairs
Jim Watkins, parent of undergraduate student, head of Richmond Renaissance
Tabitha Gray-Enoch, Director of Orientation and New Student Programs

Faculty & Staff Recruitment and Retention

Chair: Garrick Louis, assistant professor of systems and information engineering

Ronda Bryant, Curry School doctoral student, Commerce School graduate intern
Ricardo Padron, assistant professor of Spanish
Lynda White, Associate Director, Management Information Services
Robbie Greenlee


Chair: Ellen Contini-Morava, associate professor of anthropology

Rosa Brooks, associate professor of law
Justin Steele, undergraduate student
Noah Sullivan, undergraduate student
Rick Turner, Dean of the Office of African-American Affairs

Community/Business Models

Chair: Charlene Green, Equity and Diversity Specialist for Albemarle County
Timothy Hulbert, President and CEO, Charlottesville Regional Chamber of Commerce
Maurice Jones, Public Information Officer, City of Charlottesville
Bill Kehoe, professor of commerce
James Trice, alumnus
LaMont Wells, parent of undergraduate student, Senior Vice President for Corporate Development, American Systems Corp.


Ed Ayers, Dean of Arts & Sciences
Gene Block, Vice President and Provost
Bill Harmon, Senior Vice President
Pat Lampkin, Vice President for Student Affairs
Yoke San Reynolds, Vice President for Finance
Rick Turner, Dean of the Office of African-American Affairs

President's Assistant to the Commission

Kelli Palmer, doctoral intern, Curry School

Commission Staffers

Anne Bromley (imbedded reporter)
Kurt Hoehenstein (research assistant)
Kathleen Valenzi (writer)