University Leadership & Governance


The University of Virginia’s leadership team is committed to stewarding the academic mission, research enterprise and strategic vision of the University. Teresa A. Sullivan is the University’s eighth President, having taken office on August 1, 2010. She serves as the highest ranking administrative officer of the University with broad oversight over the full range of University schools, programs and initiatives.

Three Executive Vice Presidents are charged by the President with overseeing the University’s primary divisions. Thomas C. Katsouleas serves as the Executive Vice President and Provost with oversight of all education, research and public service in the University’s schools, libraries and museums and other academically related units. Patrick D. Hogan serves as the Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, with responsibility for setting financial policy and overseeing strategic initiatives, human resources, safety and emergency preparedness, information technology and other operational units. Richard P. Shannon serves as the Executive Vice President for Health Affairs and is responsible for aligning the key components of the UVA Health System to achieve the goal of becoming a top-decile academic medical center.

The University President maintains an Executive Cabinet, who meet regularly to advise the President and fellow cabinet members on any subjects relating to the duties of his/her department or organization.

For more information please visit the Office of the President.


The University of Virginia is governed by the Board of Visitors, which is responsible for the long-term planning of the University. The Board approves the policies and budget for the University, and is entrusted with the preservation of the University's many traditions, including the Honor System. The Board is composed of seventeen voting members appointed by the Governor of the Commonwealth of Virginia, subject to confirmation by the General Assembly, for terms of four years. In addition, the Board of Visitors appoints, for a one-year term, a full-time student and faculty member at the University of Virginia as non-voting members of the Board of Visitors.

Each year at its Annual Meeting, the Board elects from among its membership an Executive Committee composed of seven members. These seven members consist of the Rector, who serves as the Board Chair, the Vice Rector, and five additional Visitors elected by the Board. Additionally, the Board maintains Standing Committees, each with its own Chair, including the following: Academic and Student Life; Advancement; Audit, Compliance, and Risk; Buildings and Grounds; Executive; Finance; the Medical Center Operating Board; and a committee on the University of Virginia's College at Wise.

For additional information, including current membership and meeting schedules, please visit the Board of Visitors website.